Geek: Fantasy Novel – E. Archer

Geek Book CoverOn the cover:

Be careful what you wish for. Really. Wishes are bad. Very bad.

They can get you trapped in a fantasy world full of killer bunny rabbits, evil aunts, and bothersome bacteria, for example.

But you already knew that, didn’t you?

Ralph, alas, does not. He’s been asked to spend the summer with his strange British relatives at their old manor house in order to set up their Wi-Fi network. But there’s much more to it than that, of course. It’s just that nobody told Ralph. He’s a gamer, sure. But this game is much stranger – and funnier – than anything manufactured by Nintendo.

So put on your suit of armor. Take out your 20-sided die. Brush up on your warcraft. Or, at the very least, open up this book.

Geek fantasy awaits!

Why I chose it: The title, of course! I saw it and thought, I have to get it! (But let’s not lie, the eyes on the cover creep me out, and I have to make sure when I set it down that I can’t see the cover!)

The Review:

I was really excited when I got this book, because it looked like everything I love in my life all wrapped up into one! But in reality, this book was nothing like I was expecting, and there were many aspects of the book that really surprised me. One of the things I absolutely love is the narrator of the book. He constantly breaks the fourth wall to talk to the reader, and he was hilarious. I loved all of his little comments and complaints about what was happening in the story, and he was absolutely delightful to read!

The other thing I really liked was the references that the book made to fairy tales. I absolutely love revisiting or modernizing fairy tales, so it was awesome that the book went into stories like the Snow Queen.  I really wasn’t expecting it, so it made me pretty happy.

…Now we get to the hard part. You see, when I picked up the book, I expected it to be all things Geek. Was it? …No. I mean, it had fairies and quests, sure. But that was it. I was really expecting a book jam-packed with  awesome geeky references, but they just weren’t there. Now let me put a disclaimer: I am fully aware that the book could be referencing something I don’t have experience with, like Magic the Gathering or D&D, and I wouldn’t recognize it. But honestly? I don’t think they were there. In the end, the inclusion of fairies, godmothers, wishes and fairy tales actually made the book feel really immature.

But the book, of course, tried to insist to Geekier Than Thoume that it was geeky. How? By telling me so every other chapter. The narrator would say things like “Ralph thought this because he was a geek,” or other characters would constantly call him a geek, or even at one point “Ralph said, geekily.” …How does one speak geekily? It felt like the book was screaming at me that it was geeky when really it didn’t appear geeky at all, to the point where every time I saw the word geek I wanted to roll my eyes. It was really unfortunate.

I would love to say that with all the fairy tale connections that this book is more appropriate for a younger audience, however the amount of gore in the book nulls that (exploding bodies raining everywhere is just a little shocking amongst the sugary wishland full of fairies). As much as I hate to say it, the geek book just didn’t live up to its name.

Rating: 2/5

Number of times the word geek appears in this post: 17

Leave a Reply

