I’m excited to see: Looper

Looper movie posterFrom imdb.com:

In 2072, when the mob wants to get rid of someone, the target is sent 30 years into the past, where a hired gun awaits. Someone like Joe, who one day learns the mob wants to ‘close the loop’ by transporting back Joe’s future self.

If you haven’t sen the trailer yet, check it out!

So I know Looper is coming out this Friday, and I couldn’t be more excited! Why, you may ask, am I so excited for this movie? Could it possibly be that I have a massive celebrity crush on Joseph Gordon-Levitt? (Well, okay, it’s true that I have a crush BUT that’s not my only reason for being excited for this movie!)

When I first saw the trailer I have to admit I wasn’t sure about the movie. It looks similar to other movies that I’ve seen – actually, to another Bruce Willis movie in particular, 12 Monkeys, in which *spoiler* a young Willis sees his future self die (sorry, but the movie’s 16 years old, I’m assuming if you haven’t seen it you’re not going to.) Time travel isn’t new, and neither is seeing one’s past or future self.

But.

A clip of the movie was released, and when I saw Willis and Gordon-Levitt actually interacting, I was hooked! I think that the superb acting from these two is what is going to make this movie. Gordon-Levitt on his own is quickly becoming a superb actor onscreen, especially with his parts in both Inception and Dark Knight Rises, where he wowed me completely! And let’s not forget Willis, who definitely shows up in some of my favourites, like Tears if the Sun, the Sixth Sense, Mercury Rising and Armageddon.

I cannot wait to see these two in action on the big screen – especially when they’re fighting each other for their lives! I definitely know where I’m going to be this weekend!

 

2 comments on “I’m excited to see: Looper

  1. I’m super excited to see this one too! I hate the makeup they did on Joseph Gordon Levitt though :P I know that they were trying to make him look more like Bruce Willis….but I’d rather just see him as himself…..

Leave a Reply

