Tyger Tyger – Kersten Hamilton

Tyger Tyger Book CoverOn the Cover: “Your life is totally in danger!” Teagan Wylltson thinks her best friend, Abby, is joking. But Abby swears that she’s psychic. And she’s dreamed that horrifying creatures – goblins, shape-shifters, shadows, and beings of unearthly beauty but terrible cruelty – are hunting her friend.

Abby is always coming up with crazy stuff, though, so Teagan isn’t worried. Her life isn’t in danger. In fact, it’s perfect. She’s on track for a college scholarship. She has a great job. She’s focused on school, work, and her future. No boys, no heartaches, no problems.

Until Finn Mac Cumhaill arrives.

Finn’s a bit on the unearthly beautiful side himself. He has a killer accent and a knee-weakening smile. And either he’s crazy or he’s been haunting Abby’s dreams, because he’s talking about goblins, too… and about being the Mac Cumhaill, born to fight all goblinkind.

Finn has survived alone on the streets since he was twelve, so he knows a thing or two about fighting. Which is a very good thing, because this time, Abby’s right.

The goblins are coming.

Why I chose it: I picked up the sequel first, which is called In the Forests of the Night. That’s the same title as a book by one of my favourite authors, Amelia Atwater-Rhodes. Of course I had to check the series out!

The Review:

Well nothing like Atwater-Rhodes’ story, so get that thought out of your head. Actually both series are referencing a poem by William Blake, The Tyger, which is one of my favourites. :)

Tyger Tyger got off to a really rocky start with me. The main character, Teagan, works at a zoo, communicating with a chimp in Sign Language. On the 3rd page in, however, the chimp poops on Teagan’s sweater, which due to a cold and apparent blindness she does not smell or see when putting the sweater on. For the next 20 pages we have the delight of hearing non-stop poop humour as Teagan heads home on a public bus. Well, I don’t know about you, but I’m generally looking for something a little more sophisticated than poop humour, and this made it really tempting to put the book down and never pick it back up again.

Well the book does in fact get better, and in the end I was glad I stuck it out and kept reading. Actually, by the end I almost couldn’t believe it was the same book that opened with ape poop. It was almost as if Teagan had matured throughout the book, and as she did so did the writing and the seriousness of the story. She did have quite a lot to go through once Goblins start attacking her and her family, and she really does get stronger and smarter.

But there was a lot of unnecessarily … “stuff” in the book. Like, driving halfway across the country in a motor-home just to be driven all the way back by a grumpy taxi driver. Why? Well, the only thing that happened out there was they had a conversation. I guess they needed to talk. Really far away. Also, there’s a really gross moment about eating a finger. I’mma leave it at that.

Yggdrasil is where the Nine Worlds exist. It makes a surprising appearance in the novel, despite being from Norse Mythology. (Source: Wikipedia)

Still, there were a few things in the book I absolutely loved. Teagan’s family descends from Irish Travelers, and Hamilton actually brings their culture into the book in a really nice way. I was really impressed with some of the lore that was in the book, including both Irish and  Norse mythology. Plus when Teagan goes to the Goblin kingdom, there is some beautifully described scenery. I wish I could go there. The level of fantasy and imagination was seriously heightened by these descriptions. Finally, by the end of the book there were actually more levels to the plot than I had anticipated, and more twists than I thought possible. I was actually really impressed with the imagery and the story of the book at the end.

I did have very mixed feelings about the book, because I liked the end so much, but it just took so much work to reach it. I do think it’s worth it – you just have to fight an uphill battle to get there.

Rating: 3.5/5

2 comments on “Tyger Tyger – Kersten Hamilton

  1. I hate when a book makes you work to like it or contains way too much unnecessary information! I’m glad that you liked it by the end though! :)

Leave a Reply

