Across The Universe – Beth Revis

Across the Universe Book CoverOn the Cover: Amy is a cryogenically frozen passenger aboard the spaceship Godspeed. She has left her boyfriend, friends – and planet – behind to join her parents as a member of Project Ark Ship.

Amy and her parents believe they will wake on a new planet, Centauri-Earth, three-hundred years in the future. But fifty years before Godspeed’s scheduled landing, cryo chamber 42 is mysteriously unplugged, and Amy is violently woken from her frozen slumber.

Someone tried to murder her.

Now, Amy is caught inside a tiny world where nothing makes sense. Godspeed’s 2312 passenger’s have forfeited all control to Eldest, a tyrannical and frightening leader. And Elder, Eldest’s rebellious teenage heir, is both fascinated with Amy and eager to discover whether he has what it takes to lead.

Any desperately wants to trust Elder. But should she put her faith in a boy who has never seen life outside the ship’s cold metal walls? All Amy knows is that she and Elder must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets before whoever woke her tries to kill her again.

Why I chose it: My friend Natalie recommended this book to me. Check out her blog at Browsing Bookshelves!

The Review:

I cannot believe I hadn’t read this sooner – Across the Universe is so good! I could not have anticipated how much I have fallen in love with this book!

I think one of the best aspects of this book is that is doesn’t tiptoe around anything. There are some very serious tones to this book, and Revis does not try to sugarcoat anything. For example, the first scene is of Amy and her family being cryogenically frozen for their journey through space. This is not a pleasant process. Actually, it sounds rather horrifying, and not only does Amy have to go through it, she has to see her parents go through it first. I was both horrified and fascinated by the descriptions of the process, and it’s definitely a part of the book that I won’t forget easily. Other serious factors on the ship are the deaths of crew members and the murders of other frozen passengers, and Revis does a fantastic job putting these into the story.

But it is the description of being frozen that really attracted me to the main character, Amy. She is fantastic, and I was immediately drawn to her. From the moment she was frozen to her explorations of the ship, she is sweet and innocent, but at the same time incredibly strong. I not only felt sympathetic to her, but she is easy to relate to, and I think she’s the best main character I’ve read in a while.

The book switches between Amy’s viewpoint and that of Elder’s. These switches were easy and never confusing, and I really appreciated being able to have both an insider’s and an outsider’s view of Godspeed. While I didn’t warm up to Elder initially, by the end I really liked his character. His interactions with Amy are perfect, and I love the way he thinks and acts aboard the ship.

The blueprints for Godspeed (picture from Amazon.com)

Finally, I absolutely loved the science and technology in this book. It is extremely intelligent, and I loved every time Elder or Any discover something new about the ship. There are so many tiny details mentioned in the book about the ship and the different areas of research that are ongoing, and I ate up every bit of it! Never once was the science or technology overwhelming or confusing. It was the perfect amount of description and I couldn’t have enjoyed it more!

My one minor issue with the book is that at points it can be predictable. There are a couple times when Elder and Amy are trying to figure out what is happening around them and I had already identified the answer. Despite this, however, I was still so thrilled with the story that I was not deterred at all and just kept reading, hoping they’d figure it out soon!

This book was such a good read. Its descriptions were so powerful, and it honestly played with my emotions and at points I swear my humanity. It definitely makes you think, and I would highly suggest reading this book! (Also, I just found out my local library has the second book, A Million Suns, on the shelf – guess where I’m off to this afternoon! :D) But if you love dystopians, sci-fi, or just a really good read then definitely pick up Across the Universe!

Rating: 4.5/5

3 comments on “Across The Universe – Beth Revis

  1. I’m SOOO happy you finally read it!!! I know what you mean about the predictable parts of the book….but there is no way you saw that ending coming right!?! I was blown away! The second book is even better then the first! I’ve been hanging off a cliff waiting for the finale for almost a year now! I can’t wait to read Shades of Earth!

  2. PS. Thanks for mentioning my blog haha :)

    • I’m so glad I finally read it too! Haha. Thanks so much for recommending it! And no, Eldest surprised me soo much! And I’m ready to plow through the second one, I’m so excited to read it!! Kind of glad I don’t have to wait long for the third ;) And no problem for the mention – after all you are the one who got me into this ;)

Leave a Reply

