The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

The Hobbit TrailerFrom imdb.com: A younger and more reluctant Hobbit, Bilbo Baggins, sets out on a “unexpected journey” to the Lonely Mountain with a spirited group of Dwarves to reclaim a their stolen mountain home from a dragon named Smaug.

The Review:

This past weekend was the opening weekend of The Hobbit, so of course I set out to see it! I actually was trying really hard not to get excited for it, because I wasn’t sure my work schedule would let me see it at all (and this is why I couldn’t see the midnight opening show :( ). But I did manage to see it on Sunday, and I am so glad I went!!

I have read The Hobbit multiple times, but I think the last time was probably 5 years ago. I didn’t want to read the novel right before the movie, because I didn’t want to over analyze it as I was watching it, and I think this was the right decision for me. I was so excited for the movie and I just didn’t want to be disappointed by what I saw.

It ends up that I really like the movie. Like, a lot. I wish I could list all the amazing things that I loved in the movie, but that might take a while, so I won’t. :) I’ll just say that being transported back to Middle Earth was a delight, and that the movie was absolutely beautiful. Every shot was stunning, and I just drank it all in!

I know there was a lot of concern with all the extra appendices information Peter Jackson was putting into the film, but for the most part I loved it. There was a lot of scenes of background information or past battles that factor into how the characters, particularly the dwarves, are acting. I think that only added to the story and really helped to build all of the characters. And the characters? Amazing. I adored Martin Freeman as Bilbo. I thought he was perfect. The Dwarves too, although only a handful were focused on, I absolutely love.

TheHobbit_1920x1080_desktop-wallpaper

I also liked the different links they’ve put into place with Galadriel and Elrond, etc, that really tie into The Lord of the Rings. I really do like the attempt to make all 6 films into an overarching story, because I think it speaks more to the history of Middle Earth. The only part I didn’t like with the extra material were the Radagast scenes. They were silly and unnecessary, and really distracted from the rest of the movie. I actually sat there thinking, why is this here? But all the other appendix pulls I loved.

Speaking of Radagast, the humour in the movie was slightly off for me. There were a couple of spots that I knew they were trying to be funny, but I didn’t really laugh. I found that to be a huge different between The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit; there are identifiable points in LotR that are comedic relief, but in The Hobbit, there weren’t. I felt there was a big lack of good one liners or parts that really charmed me, and that was really disappointing for me.

Finally, the speed. The whole movie progresses quite rapidly, which is nice for its length. However, I found a big difference between the first and second halves. The first half I found amazing, introducing all the characters, their first battles, and the journey to Rivendell. I honestly want to call that part perfect. The second half? It’s almost too fast. It felt like the characters are literally sprinting from one battle to the next with only seconds between fights. Every little skirmish was portrayed as a giant battle, with almost no story between them. I almost wish one or two of the fights weren’t in the movie, so that instead of feeling so scattered we could focus on just one or two of them. Also, the music was the same theme for every battle. Let’s just note how sick of that theme I was by the end…

Hobbit Poster

So don’t get me wrong, I did really love the movie. While it wasn’t perfect, I love the story, love the beautiful scenery, and love the characters. I may have minor issues with the film, but I don’t know that I could have asked for more. I will definitely be seeing this movie again in theatres – and from the mere glimpses we get of Smaug, I cannot wait until the next installment!

Rating: 4.5 / 5

4 comments on “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

  1. I saw The Hobbit yesterday! I loved it too, although something about it felt wierd to me…..I think it was because I kept expecting to see my fav characters from LOTR. I had to keep reminding myself that this was THE HOBBIT not LOTR! I fell head over heels in love with Fili and Kili though! I think they will be my favourite characters throughout the film adaptation! And Martin Freemon was perfect as Bilbo! I’ve always loved him though since I first saw him in the BBC’s Office and Sherlock!

    I know what you mean about the humour though. I could tell they were trying to be funny, but despite their attempts the comedic relief supplied by characters like Merry/Pippen and Gimli/Legolas in LOTR was missing in The Hobbit.

    The Radagast scenes didn’t bother me too much. It helped to give a little more background to the story I think. Strangely I enjoyed the second half of the film more than the first….but that just goes to show you how viewers are all different from one another! Great review :)

    • Oh my gosh I LOVE Fili and Kili!! I wanted more of them! Haha. But I get what you mean about specific characters in LotR having comedic relief, and I wish Fili/Kili had been given those one liners, because I feel like it would have come across better.

      That’s so funny that you liked the second half better! I was wondering if perhaps I just got tired by the end, so when I see it again I kind of want to re-evaluate the second half. You’ve given me more hope that I’ll actually come to love it! :D

  2. CMrok93 says:

    It’s just a shame that it’s going to take a whole other year for the next film to come out when the third film is only going to come out several months after the second one. But regardless, I still look forward to it. Good review Katharine.

Leave a Reply

