Happy New Year!

Oh my gosh it’s 2013! I can’t believe that it’s already another year! I really hope you had a wonderful holiday. 2012 for me was crazy fast and busy, but it was a really awesome year. I would love to do a reflection post about the past year on the blog, but of course I didn’t start The Library Life until September! So instead I’m going to highlight some of the books I read earlier in 2012, but never got a chance to review.

Scarlet Book CoverScarlet – A.C. Gaughen

I absolutely loved this book! A re-telling of the Robin Hood story, it focuses on the character of Scarlet instead of Robin. I love the changes to her character, and she is fiery, passionate and extremely clever. Also, while she does use bow and arrows in the book, she primarily fights with throwing knives – definitely earned bonus points from me! 4.5 / 5

Audition Book CoverAudition – Stasia Ward Kehoe

This is the first book I’ve read in verse, and it was a really great introduction. It really seemed to embody the grace and power of dance through the beauty of language. Sarah’s emotions really do show through the verse, and the book reached a greater depth than I would have thought possible. While lacking a bit of the romance I was expecting, it definitely dove into the struggles of being a ballerina. 4 / 5

Modelland Book CoverModelland – Tyra Banks

This book was very…different. But that was part of the reason it really stood out.  A world full of magic and beauty, the models went from regular girls to amazing creatures living in a unique, imaginative world. I liked it because of the world Banks had created –  it made me think, and some aspects of this world were quite creative and interesting!  3.5 / 5

Voices of Dragons Book CoverVoices of Dragons – Carrie Vaughn

I really liked Kay’s character. She likes her independence and her solitude, and is a really strong girl. She crosses the dragon / human land border and ends up making an incredible bond with a dragon, and ends up flying on him! There’s also a ton of history and dragon lore packed into this book! I hadn’t read a good dragon book in a while, but this one definitely renewed my love for dragons! 5 / 5

Inside Out Book CoverInside Out – Maria Snyder

I really liked this book. It’s a world where Trella only knows being a scrub, cleaning out ducts to keep things running. But I loved that she explored everywhere, and discovered so many things about the Inside – while acting passive, she was not a passive character at all! She stumbled into leading the revolution, but definitely made strong connections with the other characters.  4.5 / 5

I am really pumped for 2013, and all the possibilities it holds! I’m super excited to see what will happen in my life, but I’m also looking forward to seeing where this blog goes and what I can do with it in the upcoming year! :)

4 comments on “Happy New Year!

  1. I put Scarlet on my to-read list because of your stellar review! I still have to read the Legacy series too :P Great list! Can’t wait to see what you read this year!

  2. […] Inside Out Corsets & Clockwork (Contributor) Brave New Love (Contributor) […]

Leave a Reply

