Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass Book CoverOn the Cover: “Nothing is a coincidence. Everything has a purpose. You were meant to come to this castle. Just as you were meant to be an assassin.”

When magic has gone from the world, and a vicious king rules from his throne of glass, as assassin comes to the castle. She does not come to kill, but to win her freedom. If she can defeat twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition to find the greatest assassin in the land, she will become the King’s Champion and be released from prison.

Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her.

And a princess from a foreign land will become the one thing Celaena never thought she’s have again: a friend.

But something evil dwells in the castle – and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying, horribly, one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival – and a desperate quest to root out the source of the evil before it destroys her world.

Why I chose it: I saw a review for this on Browsing Bookshelves’ blog and decided I wanted to check it out!

The Review:

I actually have very mixed feelings for this book, so I’ll start with what I really liked. The characters in Throne of Glass were really great. Celaena interacts mostly with Prince Dorian and Captain of the Guard, Chaol. These two men are best friends, and Maas does an amazing job of making them similar but different from each other. I loved both characters for very different reasons, which really showed to me the strength in the character building that occured in the story. I also loved Princess Nehemia, who becomes friends with Celaena. Nehemia is from a different land, and I loved that you saw her fear for her people but also her strength while visiting the castle.

Finally, Celaena herself had a ton of strength. She’s an assassin, so she has a strength and stealth in her that I automatically liked. Plus, the more you learn about her past, about the stuff that she has lived through and her experiences as a slave in prison just made me like her more and more. I think that is absolutely the one thing I loved about this book were the different, strong characters that were built.

But unfortunately I can’t rave about this book because there were things that I just kept tripping over while I was reading it. To start off the book, Celaena comes across as really vain. Within the first two chapters you hear like 4 times about how she used to be SO beautiful, but she’s spent a year in prison and now just looks so dreadful. Then she gets to the palace and is practically drooling over fabrics and dresses and jewels. I was a little taken aback because – and maybe I am being stereotypical – but I definitely did not expect that level of vanity from the assassin.Throne of Glass Cover Close Up

I was also really disappointed with the action in the book. There are some scenes that are action packed, and you really get to see Celaena show her abilities. But as the evil in the castle becomes a bigger threat, Celaena is focused on that danger, so you lose focus on the competition. There are several “tests” that occur within the competition that you never get to see, because Celaena is too busy puzzling over the mystery in the castle. All you get is her narration of “two more tests went by…”  As much as I was intrigued by the evil in the castle and the attacks that were happening, I was really disappointed that I didn’t get to read all about the competition and what was happening there. The book turned out to have a much slower pace than I had expected.

So I will say I enjoyed the book – it was really hard to put down! But I did feel thrown off at times with Celaena’s character, and I was definitely disappointed by the focus of the book as Celaena puzzles over things rather than describing all the action that is occurring. But still, the characters are award winning, and I did enjoy reading about the assassin Celaena Sardothien! Definitely worth checking out!

Rating: 3.5 / 5

2 comments on “Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Maas

  1. Darn! Too bad you didn’t enjoy this one as much as I did! Her vanity ticked me off too, but at the same time I appreciated Maas’s ability to make the main character just a teansy bit unlikable. Everyone in real life has at least one flaw, and vanity seems to be Celaena’s! Hopefully you enjoy the next book you pick a bit more!

    • You’re totally right, Maas did an amazing job at creating a realistic character, and I really did love Celaena despite her vanity! But I did enjoy reading it, thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

