Book Binging

As you may have noticed, I haven’t been on much in the past week. This is because work has been really busy and have been booking me into overtime, which I can’t really complain about because yay lots of hours! But that means outside of work there hasn’t been much happening besides watching tv and sleeping.

But in addition to not having the energy to go on great adventures after work, I also haven’t been reading. Being tired isn’t the cause – after all, crawling into bed with a good book is always a great feeling – but I think I’m in one of those phases when I don’t want to read. The more I thought about it, the more I realized: I binge on books.

I binge a lot. Maybe that sounds bad, but it’s true – I go in and out of phases with all kinds of things. I definitely binge with food, like eating ice cream all day, then not wanting it again for weeks. But I also binge with online profiles, like sometimes when I sit on Twitter and do nothing but tweet all day, or with hobbies, like when I cross stitch every day for a week then don’t touch it again for months. Even movie marathons = movie binges. But I’ve realized this past week that – no surprise – I go on book binges.

There are books that I just can’t put down. I will tear through a 400 page novel in a matter of hours. Yeah, maybe I miss some finer details, but man it feels good! (Realization: Am I a book junkie?) Sometimes I will tear through 3 or 4 books in a matter of days because all I’m doing is reading.

Yet other times I struggle to get through a book, even if it’s really short, because I just don’t feel like reading. This doesn’t just depend on the book, either. Yes, sometimes when I’m really not enjoying reading a book, I will drag my feet through it. It will take me weeks to read because I’m stubborn and I tell myself I have to finish it, even though I’m not enjoying it. But there are other times, such as the case with The Unnaturalists two weeks ago that I was legitimately enjoying, but struggled to get through because I didn’t feel like reading. There was nothing wrong with the book, I just wasn’t in to the reading mode.

So why is it that I book binge? I’m not entirely sure. Perhaps I get tired of reading because I’ve read so much in a short amount of time, and need to take a break before reading my next book. Maybe after 4 or 5 novels I always hit on a book I’m not as into, and therefore struggle to finish it in comparison to the others. In reality, I don’t know why this has become the norm for me while reading. Do I think book binging is bad? Perhaps. I always feel slightly guilty when I finish a book really quickly, wondering if I’ve missed some of the finer details. Plus I don’t want to miss out on the opportunity to read good books because I’m not in the mood to read. But overall I don’t think reading like this is a terrible thing, and I always look forward to getting back into the swing of things and reading the next round of books! :)

2 comments on “Book Binging

  1. I’m glad to know I’m not the only binger out there! I def binge on all sorts of things: reading, cooking, tweeting, tumbling, the list goes on! Right now I’m in the book rut after being on a two week book binge….

Leave a Reply

