Orphan Black

Orphan Black posterFrom Space.ca: After witnessing a woman’s suicide, Sarah assumes her identity hoping that cleaning out the dead woman’s bank account will solve all of her problems. Instead, the street smart chameleon is thrust headlong into a kaleidoscopic mystery. She makes the dizzying discovery that she and the dead woman are clones… but are they the only ones? With an assassin hot on her trail, Sarah is racing for answers.

The Review:

I started watching Orphan Black out of simple curiosity. The show is a collaboration between the Space Channel and BBC America, and when I saw that Tatiana Maslany was the star, I knew I had to try it. I have to say, I’m going nuts over it! I have absolutely fallen in love with this show and it’s only six episodes in! (I’ve tried not to go into too much detail with my review, but everything I’ve shared is within the first 2 episodes :) )

The show starts with Sarah, who is English with a street-wise attitude. She witnesses the suicide of a woman who looks exactly like her – so, of course she decides to steal her identity. I love that even though Sarah was freaking out that some woman looks like her, she totally sees an opportunity for her own gain, and goes for it!

I think the part that I like so much about this show is really because of Tatiana Maslany. I adored her when I saw her in the show Heartland, and I am so impressed with her in Orphan Black.  We see her first as Sarah, which is the character the show really focuses on. But as the show progresses and we meet more clones, we have the opportunity of seeing Maslany portray numerous and very different characters – and I love every one of them!

Just to give you an idea, here is Sarah as some of the clones we’ve met:

Sarah: the girl with attitude who knows how to get things done.

Sarah3

Beth Childs: While we never actually get to see what Beth is like, we do get to see Sarah pretend to be her, and she pulls off being a cop well enough to fool a bank, her partner, and Beth’s boyfriend!

Character Beth

Alison Hendrix: Even though Sarah calls Alison “soccer bitch” I absolutely adore this character – a perfect soccer mom who packs the heat when she needs to!

Alison 3

Cosima: I also adore this character – she’s the brain of the group, but really sweet too!

Cosima

And finally, The German, and the Russian Helena. We haven’t seen much of these two characters yet, but I adore Maslany’s acting when they show up!

The German

Helena

I am really enjoying Maslany’s acting, and the different accents are really entertaining. But I love it because at times I seriously forget that I am watching the same person! The characters are all so different that I feel like I’m watching six different people. It is really interesting to watch Maslany play the characters against each other, because even her mannerisms and walks are completely different between clones!

Finally, the story line itself has gotten pretty interesting. I don’t want to give too much away, but I have to say the last 2 episodes have had me on the edge of my seat! Different people from each of the clones’ lives have started to come together – which is definitely not a good thing! Plus, as the clones get deeper into trying to find out where they came from, their very lives are coming under fire. It is becoming a much more intense show than I had anticipated – I now totally look forward to my Saturday nights so much more because of this show!

If you like science fiction, mystery, or even stories about different people whose lives intersect in confusing ways, then I think you should definitely check out this show! And if you’re worried about how new it is, don’t – it’s already gotten renewed for Season 2! :D

Rating:  5 / 5

2 comments on “Orphan Black

  1. callingonangels says:

    I binged watched this show last week, can’t wait for season 2! I have a serious girl crush on Cosima! haha Maslany is awesome. I love your blog =] and thanks for following mine!

Leave a Reply

