A Hobby of Hobbies

In the past couple of weeks I’ve been struggling with time management, and I finally have to be honest with myself about why: I have too many hobbies.

Now, that sounds silly, right? How can a person have too many hobbies? We’re always told to try new things, so what can be bad about trying new hobbies? But I suppose my problem isn’t that I’m just trying out new hobbies, I’m keeping them. My hobby is collecting hobbies. Now I feel like I have to schedule my free time so that I’m always working on something!

To try and make this more clear, here are some of the hobbies that I’m frequently working on:

Reading. Duh. At the minimum I read a few pages a day, at the extreme I read an entire book in a day. (Which is what happened earlier this week and may have contributed to why I haven’t blogged…)

Writing. This can actually be broken down into further hobbies: Journal; Stories; Blog. I absolutely love to write in my journal, and have managed to fill up several notebooks full of musings and thoughts. Even though I love it, though, I don’t do it very often. It’s time consuming and I can easily spend several hours just writing! I can also spend hours writing stories – which perhaps one day will turn into a novel – but I find this hard to schedule, because when I get a burst of inspiration, I need to get that idea out of my head and onto paper. Finally, the blog. Still somewhat new and still playing with what I do in this space. The blog is a new twist on writing for me because for the first time I’m much more aware of time constraints and the pressure to write something and get it online. If nothing else the blog is showing me not to procrastinate, and allows me to celebrate every time I’m productive. If this can push me to write more in the other two forms, then I will be happy. But still, between the three of them a lot of time can be taken up when I set my pen to the paper (fingers to the keys?). Often when I sit down to write, nothing else happens that night!

Cross Stitch. This is a hobby that I love, and I’m currently trying to finish a few projects I’ve been working on. If you do any sorts of crafts (needle point, crochet and knitting in particular) you know how time consuming this hobby can be! sometimes I look up at the clock and hours have gone by – and I just sit there thinking, I’ve only done this much??

Social Media. I like to stay up to date with what’s happening, read other blogs and check out what’s new online. While I admit some of this time is wasted on irrelevant sites, there’s a lot of reading to stay up to date with different fandoms, library-related information, and of course book reviews.

And finally, video games. I play multiple, which doesn’t help – especially because we bought a Wii, and people keep giving me games to play (not that I’m complaining). But definitely between Lord of the Rings Online and Lego Harry Potter, I spend a few hours a week just with these games. It’s nice and relaxing, and definitely entertaining!

Of course, on top of all of these things, there are definitely nights that I just want to come home and veg on the couch. Is there anything really wrong with watching tv for the night?

So, what’s a girl to do? Now that I’m working full time, it’s as if all my hobby time has disappeared! It’s definitely weird to come home and realize I only have so much time to dedicate to personal hobbies. I need to figure out what hobbies I want to focus on. While obviously I can cut out some of the smaller hobbies that I’m not that attached to, I still feel like I have too many things to focus my attention on. How do I prioritize? How much time does each hobby get allocated?

I think for now, I will simply have to try and stay productive on the things that I really want to focus on, and see what I can do from there. Hopefully I can learn to manage all of my hobbies! (And maybe I’ll have to stop trying out new ones for a while ;))

Have any suggestions? Leave them in the comments! :)

 

4 comments on “A Hobby of Hobbies

  1. Darcy says:

    Busy girl! I guess just try and figure out which hobbies are the most important to you? I know, not very helpful lol-Darcy

  2. Hobbies are awesome! The only one I really have time for right now is reading…and that’s only because I can’t fall asleep until I read a few chapters in bed every night :P I use to scrapbook and write but those have kind of fallen to the wayside:P Also, now that the weather is getting nicer the only thing I want to do afterwork is sit outside and soak up the sun! Great post!

Leave a Reply

