Star Trek Into Darkness

Star Trek PosterFrom IMDb.com: After the crew of the Enterprise find an unstoppable force of terror from within their own organization, Captain Kirk leads a manhunt to a war-zone world to capture a one man weapon of mass destruction.

The Review:

After having loved the first Star Trek, I was definitely pumped to see this one. I got a chance to go see it this weekend, so of course I went! Unfortunately, the movie left me with some mixed feelings and a little perplexed – usually not a good feeling when leaving a movie.

Even though I actually saw the movie 3 days ago, I waited to blog because I was trying to figure out exactly what left me feeling unsatisfied in the movie. Here’s what I’ve come up with: I’m not a Trekkie, but I’m not a non-Trekkie either – and that ended up being an issue. See, I have seen all of the Star Trek movies at least once, and I’ve seen a good chunk of the original series. But I don’t have things memorized. Just because I’ve seen the content doesn’t mean that I know it. In Star Trek Into Darkness we have a parallel universe that has similarities to but doesn’t match the original. Unfortunately for me, they made reference to things that happened in the series. Now, if I had been a non-fan and didn’t have any prior knowledge, no problem. Would have gone over my head and I would be happy. Alternatively, if I was a big fan I would understand the references and carry on. But in actuality, I’m somewhere in the middle. The movie was filled with names or situations that were all incredibly familiar to me, but also didn’t match the vague facts that I had in my head – resulting in a grey deja vu-filled zone that just left me confused. I do, however, have to say I don’t think that’s a fault of the movie – I was sitting there trying to match things up – perhaps I just confused myself.

References aside, I actually really do like the movie. The action in it is excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed watching all action scenes, big or small, and there were some really nice details in some of them. My favourites were some battle scenes in space between two space ships – excellent wreckage going on. On top of that, the acting was also excellent, and even in the midst of fights all of the actors managed to display an array of emotions in the briefest of glimpses.

An aspect of the movie that I found interesting was the character focus. I had assumed Kirk would be the main focus of the film. Instead we get little to no character development from Kirk and instead there is a large focus on Spock, his further understanding of human emotions, and of course his relationship with Uhura. I really like this Spock, I think Zachary Quinto does a fabulous job – I was just surprised at how little I felt from Kirk. Overall, there was quite a lot less character development than the first movie, but that wasn’t entirely unexpected, and what was there was enjoyable. Star Trek Poster 2

I think the most notable aspect for me was actually the music. Of course there is the overarching main theme, which is the same theme from the first film and is quite familiar. However, several times throughout the film I heard smaller and softer themes that were really good. I really liked listening for the music in between battles to see what other sounds I would get from the movie. They sounded really artistic and for me added a lot to the atmosphere of the movie. I like Michael Giacchino’s work, and will definitely look into getting the soundtrack for this movie!

Overall, the movie was action packed, fast paced, thoughtful, and visually stunning. While I think there were some small issues with the plot and original references, I acknowledge this is a more of a situational flaw. I would definitely recommend checking out Star Trek Into Darkness, and try to see this one in theatres – after all, you really do need the giant screen and surround sound!

Rating: 4 /5

 

 

4 comments on “Star Trek Into Darkness

  1. Charleen says:

    I also loved the music in the 2009 reboot and Into Darkness. Especially the main theme (so powerful!) and the ending credits (old ’60s theme but with a new twist).

  2. I saw this on Sunday and loved it! I’ve only seen a handful of the original Star Trek episodes, so I understood a few of the references, but not a lot of them. I thought it was great and I loved Benedict Cumberbatch!

Leave a Reply

