Three to Six Months Later…

How time flies! I didn’t post last week because I was attending my Graduation. :D Then I had family events and friends to visit, etc. etc., I’m back! But first I have to give a shout out to all my friends who have graduated (or will graduate shortly)! Congrats, guys! #Section3Love

I think one of the craziest things about my program is that it flies by. You can complete the program in just 12 months, although most of us have taken longer to do so because of co-ops or research projects. Even so, I completed it in 16 months and it felt like a flash. It was crazy, it was intense, and by the end I think we were all looking around dazed saying, did that really happen? All I can really say is, Library school is some kind of awesome.

The one interesting thing about our program is that we were constantly assured that we would find a job within 3 to 6 months of graduating. To me that always felt like a small number, and it kept my hopes up while I was job searching. It did seem odd though, simply because at times it felt like society was telling us that libraries are useless. It’s actually quite bizarre to be going into a field like librarianship when most of the people you meet on the street tell you libraries are a thing of the past. It can be a little alarming when people ask you what you’re going to school for, and when they hear libraries they just laugh. It’s also surprising how many people ask you, “you have to have a master’s to work in a library?” Yes. Yes, you do. So even though we all believe that libraries are important, I think we were all secretly afraid that we would never find jobs.

For me, I have successfully gotten a full time job. (Yay!) I started at this position 3 months after I finished the program, 5 months after I had started to seriously job hunt. While public and academic libraries are more common positions, I happen to be in a corporate position. Right now, I’m focused on data processing into an online database – aka data entry. It’s an entry level job, and hey, for my first adult job? I’ll take it. I’m also very excited, because the company has a large Records Management division, with a huge warehouse full of carefully organized files – and every single person there has an MLIS. I’m really looking forward to the opportunity to move into that department.

The most interesting thing about graduation was hearing where everyone else has ended up. Because of co-ops, research studies, etc, I haven’t seen a lot of the people I started the program with, so it was definitely cool to catch up. It is really encouraging to hear about some of my classmates. For example, 2 of my friends are working for school boards, working in school libraries with children. A few others are working part time at their local public libraries – and in a field where experience is key, part time is a great way to get your foot in the door. One is working as an adult librarian, and still another is working full time as a children’s librarian. We’ve also spread out greatly – all across Ontario, some out in Alberta or British Columbia, and a few down to the US. Then we have those who have only just graduated a month ago, and a few still finishing up the program.

I have to say, I am pretty impressed with how well we have done. For a field that is supposedly shutting down, most of us have obtained good jobs that are within our field, and it did not take long at all. It’s really exciting, and I’m definitely looking forward to the future, to whatever possibilities there are. :)

2 comments on “Three to Six Months Later…

  1. I kind of wish I’d gone to graduation to see everyone :( I miss Section 3! And you!

Leave a Reply

