Summer Laziness

Recently one of my friends decided she wanted to start playing LOTRO – OF COURSE I got super pumped! But then I did a double take and realized I haven’t played in like, 3 months.

How did that even happen?

It’s really weird for me to think that a year ago, I was on LOTRO every single night. That just what I did. And sometimes in the afternoons too. Occasionally in the mornings (which always made me feel like a little kid who got away with doing something bad). But really, I played all the time, and now one year later I can’t even remember the last time I played.

So what’s changed? Well, I’m not a student anymore. Something that makes me a bit sad when I think about it, because library school was awesome. But on top of that I think getting a full time job has made me majorly change a lot of my habits, the most obvious being LOTRO. See, even though I was on my computer all the time for school, I wasn’t staring at it for 8 hours a day like I am now. So while I want to relax when I get home from work, I don’t really want to stare at a computer screen.

The other major factor is the timing of everything. I got the job at the beginning of the summer. And, well, it’s summer. So of course I want to be outside soaking up the sunshine as much as I can. It’s also been quite hot lately, so playing over a hot laptop isn’t exactly enticing.But I think this extends to other games too. This past winter we bought a Wii, and I haven’t played that in probably equally as long. This is for similar reasons, it’s just too hot to get up and move around with the Wii.

Interestingly, I recently had a  conversation with a friend who sees gaming as more of a winter hobby. He simply doesn’t play any video games during the summer. He likes to be outside all the time in the hot weather, and then when it gets cold and snowy, stay inside to play. And this makes total sense to me – especailly because in the cold weather, I’ll be grateful for my hot laptop. ;)

Still, I do think I’ve been a bit lazy lately (thus the title). With such hot weather lately, I haven’t wanted to do much of anything, so I’ve been watching a lot of tv. Oops. So really, it’s not like I’m avoiding LOTRO to do something productive, like read or write or blog or…nope, just tv. But hopefully the hot weather will stay away for a bit and I can get back into a productive mode – and I think I’ll have to try and block off a few hours a week to for LOTRO – I have, after all, caught myself daydreaming at work about the beautiful landscape of Middle Earth…

So what do you think? Are video games for year round or preferable in the winter?

 

4 comments on “Summer Laziness

  1. Charleen says:

    I don’t play many games these days, but when I did, I don’t think the seasons were much of a factor. But I also don’t handle the heat well, so I’m just as likely to want to stay inside all day in the summer as I am in the winter. But… that’s just me.

    • Haha I totally know what you mean. The AC is just so nice! I don’t really know if its the season, or just work – maybe the timing is just a coincidence! Thanks for sharing :)

  2. I agree! I find even my Internet usage goes down in the summer (hence the shameful neglect of my own blog this past month). Why bother sitting inside on the computer when you can be enjoying the sunshine?

    • Exactly! Sometimes when I go on Twitter now it feels so strange…to think I used to sit on it for entire days! But getting the laptop takes effort and it’s too hot for that. ;)

Leave a Reply

