Nova Scotia!

So you may have noticed that I didn’t post last week. This is because I was on vacation – and in Nova Scotia! It’s been quite a few years since I’ve been to Canada’s East coast, so I was really excited to go. Even though it rained 4 out of 5 days that I was there it was still amazing!

I got to visit Anse-des-Belliveau, or Belliveau’s Cove, in rural Nova Scotia. It was pretty neat to get away from some of the more touristy areas of the province and see a much different setting. Of course, I still got to see some touristy things!

This  section of Nova Scotia is quite old, having been established over 200 years ago. The population was (and still is) very Catholic. As a result, there are tons of churches everywhere! I felt like every time we rounded a corner I saw another church. These buildings are quite impressive, and the area is home to the largest wooden church in North America, Église Sainte-Marie Church. It was definitely impressive!

PICT0194

PICT0195

I also got to see this amazing granite church, Saint Bernard Church. This building was huge, and completely build by hand! I am so awed by this church. Unfortunately when they built the church, they used sand from the ocean, not realizing that the salt in the water would leave the mortar unstable. Even with the ongoing repair work being done to the church, it is still so amazing to see.

PICT0170

PICT0172

Of course the one thing I wanted to find was a library. I’m not sure why, but when I travel I love to look for the libraries in the area. It’s a new project of mine that every time I go somewhere, I’m going to try to take a picture with a library! At first we weren’t sure where to go – all though there are many churches in the area, there are not that many libraries! But, I still managed to find two. The first is the Weymouth Library, and the second is actually an academic library at the Université Sainte-Anne. Super glad I could find them!

PICT0187

PICT0189

PICT0191

I had such an amazing time in Nova Scotia. I put my hand in the ocean, ate tons of seafood, walked along some beautiful beaches and saw some really neat boats! Time flew by and before I knew it I was on a plane home. I can’t wait to go back! Here are some random photos from my trip. :)

PICT0108

PICT0112

PICT0109

PICT0114

PICT0117

PICT0124

2 comments on “Nova Scotia!

  1. Yay! Looks like a nice trip! I’ve always wanted to visit Nova Scotia! Ever since Western I always try to visit a library when I go to a different city now too! I kind of feel like a spy looking to see what other libraries are doing haha.

    • That’s so funny – I never go inside!! I totally just look at the building to see what they look like on the outside. Haha, “Don’t judge a library by its building?” :/ (Oops)

Leave a Reply

