Not Your Ordinary Wolf Girl – Emily Pohl-Weary

Book CoverFrom Goodreads.com: Eighteen-year-old rock star Sam Lee isn’t like other girls. She’s the super-talented bass player and songwriter for an all-girl indie band and an incurable loner. Then one night after a concert in Central Park, she’s attacked by a wild dog.

Suddenly, this long-time vegetarian is craving meat–the bloodier, the better. Sam finds herself with an unbelievable secret and no one she trusts to share it. And so begin the endless lies to cover up the hairy truth…

When a new girl gang appears in the city–with claws and paws–Sam suspects there’s a connection to her own inner beast. Trapped in a tug-of-war between her animal and human selves, forced to choose between the guy who sparked her carnal appetite and the one who makes her feel like a normal teenage girl, Sam has to unravel the mysteries of the werewolf world before her bandmates, her mother, and the media catch up to her.

Why I Chose It: I received this book as part of a Goodreads First Reads Giveaway!

The Review:

Every now and then I love to read a really quick and easy story – it feels good whipping through a book. Not Your Ordinary Wolf Girl was just that – quick, light and easy to read. Sam Lee is an easily likable character, and she actually felt pretty normal (despite the whole being a rockstar thing). She’s shy and doesn’t like being in the spotlight, living only for the music that she writes.

Then the wolf attack happens. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised that there was a highly detailed past to some of the characters, and the stories entwined in really creative ways. As Sam meets and interacts with different werewolves, I really appreciated how different and unique each of them were, and how they reacted to one another. I also liked that there were some differing reactions from non-wolf characters to the sudden changes in Sam’s life.

One aspect of this story that I found really interesting is that the reader keeps Sam’s perspective when she changes in to a werewolf. Plus, Sam herself keeps her human thought process, meaning that the reader is treated to a very human look of what it might be like to be a wolf. I thought it was a really neat touch to the book, and these were some of my favourite parts of the story as they were just so interesting. Unfortunately, though, this also made the book slightly confusing in parts, because I wasn’t sure if Sam was in human or wolf form during some scenes, which created some interesting things pictured in my head. ;)

There was one part that did bother me though, and that’s Sam’s sudden switch from vegetarian to meat eater. The fact that she switched did add to the story and made it more realistic and complicated, which was nice. But I didn’t like the fact that Sam barely reacts to it. She’s just all, “Yeah I’m craving meat so I’ll eat it.” I really wanted her to have this freak-out moment of, “No I want to be a vegetarian, what is happening to me??” I just found her to be a little too relaxed about the whole process, which I thought was a little too neat.

This book had some goods and some bads for me. While I appreciated the depths of some characters, the overall story went a little too smoothly – the overall problem just wasn’t big enough for me. And while there are some rather interesting moments as Sam learned what it means to run with a pack, overall I found this wolf story to be a little too tame.

Rating: 3 / 5

 

2 comments on “Not Your Ordinary Wolf Girl – Emily Pohl-Weary

  1. I have this book sitting on my dresser at home! I think I received it from Goodreads too….I should probably get around to reading it. Too bad you found it a little too tame though!

    • Yeah, I was thinking about it a little more. It’s probably good for it’s age range. It’s just not going to attract too many older YA readers, I don’t think. But for 12-14, it’s probably a good introduction to werewolf novels!

Leave a Reply

