Happy New Year!

I can’t believe it’s 2014 already! I’m super excited for this year, I think it has a ton of potential. But, before I get too carried away with the new year, I wanted to take a quick look at some of my favourites that I discovered in 2013.

Favourite Movies

RiseRise of the Guardians

Although this was released in 2012, I didn’t see it until very recently, and I can’t believe I waited so long to see it! I was not expecting to love it as much as I did. Each of the fairy tale characters were done perfectly and with such great details. They each had such interesting personalities and I loved how they all worked together. Plus I fell in love with Sandy (The Sandman). He’s adorable, and definitely one of my favourite animated characters!

Wreck-It RalphWreckit

Also released in 2012, I finally managed to watch it. When I had first seen the trailer for this movie, I was super iffy. I figured it would be one of those movies that would either be a total bust or would be super cute. In actuality, it was great! I loved this movie. It had way more in it than I had anticipated, was funny, cute, and sentimental in all the right places. It also had a lot of references to other films that I really enjoyed. I can’t wait to watch this one again and see what else I discover!

 

Favourite TV Series

Orphan Black posterOrphan Black

The stand out for me this year was Orphan Black. I reviewed it back in May, when I was part way through the season. Smart, intense, and with some really interesting characters, this show won me over in the first episode. Now, I can’t wait to see the next season, premiering April 19, 2014!

 

 

Favourite Actors

Tatiana Maslany

Character BethObviously Maslany topped my list this year. I was a big fan of her in Heartland, which I watched a lot of this year. Plus, she’s the star of Orphan Black. She’s got some serious acting skills, and I was so impressed with her taking on 6+ characters in the show. I’m looking forward to what else she’s got in the new season1

Alan Tudyk

AlanOkay, kind of a surprise for me too. Whenever I see a picture of Tudyk I always feel like I know who he is, but I don’t actually know what he’s done. So I recently looked him up, and was totally surprised by what I found. I know him from roles such as Wat from A Knight’s Tale and Steve the Pirate from Dodgeball. But he also does a ton of voice work, including Ice Age, Wreck-It Ralph, and this year’s Frozen, plus a ton of TV series. Plus, he played the robot Sonny in I, Robot. I can’t believe I’ve never looked up who played the robot, but it was Alan Tudyk! I am just so surprised that I’d never noticed how much he’s actually done, and I’m so impressed by him. I’ll be keeping my eye out for him in the future!

 

Favourite Books

This was a hard choice for me, because I’ve read so many good books this year! I decided to limit myself to 2, and these were the ones that I chose for 2013:

Small Damages – Beth Kephart 

Small Damages CoverI first reviewed this book in October, and I’m not quite sure why this book stands out so much to me. It was simple, but delightful. It’s absolutely beautifully written, and there’s a certain quality about it that I just didn’t find in other books this year. This book just makes me smile, and it was one of my favourites.

Ready Player One – Ernest Cline

Ready Player One CoverAnd of course, Ready Player One. I just recently reviewed this at the end of November. Nerdy, funny, and incredibly addictive, this was a book that had everything I wanted. It spoke to me as a person, as a gamer, and as a reader, and is a book that I can’t wait to own in every format possible. By far, this was my favourite book that I read this year.

I hope that everyone had a good 2013, and I’m pumped to see what 2014 holds! Happy New Year!

2 comments on “Happy New Year!

  1. I loved Rise of the Guardians! So cute! And I really need to catch up on Heartland….and apparently watch Orphan Black!

Leave a Reply

