The Croods

the croods movie poster

Released: 2013

From imdb.com: The Croods is a prehistoric comedy adventure that follows the world’s first family as they embark on a journey of a lifetime when the cave that has always shielded them from danger is destroyed. Traveling across a spectacular landscape, the Croods discover an incredible new world filled with fantastic creatures — and their outlook is changed forever.

Why I Chose It: The movie was released on Netflix so I thought I would give it a try!

The Review:

The Croods are a very interesting family. The six of them live in a cave and are primarily concerned with surviving, leaving their cave very rarely and only to hunt. I found that there were some very interesting decisions made about the family – for example, although they’re cavemen, they only “hunt” things like eggs, rather than actual living creatures. But I was most intrigued by how the characters moved. They’re animated in a way that’s a cross between human movements and animal movements. At times this definitely looked odd to me, but when I considered how these people were supposedly evolving into a more human state it was really cool to watch. I was very impressed with the animation of each of the characters.

I was also extremely impressed with the different settings depicted in the movie. The Croods live in a rock area, where there are very little colours, and there is lots of dust and rocks. Once their cave is destroyed, they travel into a luscious valley. There were so many colours in this setting and I thought it was absolutely beautiful to look at. I was interested to see where the family went next, just to see what other settings there were. I also really enjoyed some of the creatures that the Croods encountered. These animals were equally creative and colourful, and made each of the settings that much more amazing. While they had traits of some of our modern day animals, they were unique, and in many cases quite beautiful. I was a little disappointed that the main dangerous creatures were stereotypical (ie, giant cats) but they were very well done and still enjoyable.

The most disappointing aspect of the movie was the plot. Outside of their cave getting destroyed and their journey to the new valley, there wasn’t much to it. I thought that the new valley would enter something interesting into the plot, but there’s really nothing there. The movie relies heavily on physical comedy, with the father Grug often getting hurt as he experiences new things. There are some silly “action” scenes, usually centered around the family working together to get food, and some bigger action scenes towards the end, but there isn’t any plot to really uphold the movie. I definitely thought it was lacking.

While I fell in love with the different settings and creatures in the movie, I wasn’t wowed by the comedy or the plot. I love animated movies that are entertaining for both children and adults alike, but unfortunately The Croods isn’t one of them. I think this movie would work best for a much younger audience who would probably enjoy the physical comedy that takes centre stage. Still, if you love beautiful animation, definitely worth a watch!

Rating: 3 / 5

2 comments on “The Croods

  1. tsuhelm says:

    I have now watched this film about 5 times it is not one of my kids favourite but when they do agree to watch it I am secretly pleased as it is an enjoyable roller coaster that as yet has not failed to please. The jokes are basic but enjoyable, the animation top notch and there are enough nice touches to make repeated watching fun, I have tendencies to drop off to sleep to most of the other kid flicks we watch!

  2. The first time I watched this movie I thought it was hilarious! I loved all the silly jokes! The second time I watched it, however, I found myself getting bored. It’s still a very fun movie for kids!

Leave a Reply

