Devoted – Hilary Duff

DevotedOn the Cover: Since Sage was kidnapped, Clea has no way of knowing if he is alive or dead. And even though she has only just discovered they were soul mates, she feels like a part of her is lost forever. What’s worse, she can’t even turn to her best friend Ben, because every time she looks at him, all she sees is his betrayal.

But waiting for something to happen is not an option, so Clea is ready for action. Suffering through dreams of seeing Sage with another woman, she makes an uneasy alliance with Sage’s enemies and sets out to be reunited with Sage…in this life or the next.

Why I Chose It: Even though I wasn’t that impressed with the first novel, Elixer, I was curious to see where the story would go, so I grabbed this from the library!

The Review:

This book totally surprised me when I started reading it, because it changed the format a bit. Instead of telling the story solely from Clea’s perspective, we’re introduced to a new character who shares the point of view. Amelia and her family are immortal beings who no longer need their bodies – their minds alone have survived throughout the ages. They are simply powerful ethereal beings that can traverse the earth, doing cool tricks like appearing in other peoples dreams and speaking to others in their minds. This family fits into Clea’s story because they took the same Elixer that Sage did, many centuries before him.

So now Clea is in contact with Amelia, trying to get her help to find Sage. During this book I figured out part of what bothers me so much about Clea and Sage’s relationship. They’re supposed to be soul mates, doomed to be together for the rest of eternity, and Clea keeps telling us how she’s lost a part of her self. Well, despite the whole soul-mate-reincarnated thing, we don’t really get to see Sage and Clea together. We just have Clea telling us how in love she is and telling us how heartbroken she is without him – but I don’t see it. I DO see Ben and Clea together as best friends and how they rock together, and I DO see how natural Clea acts around her best friend Rayna – but I DO NOT see how Sage is supposed to be the all-star boyfriend. Pretty much I don’t believe the love story in the book. I feel like that might be a big issue when it’s your main plot.

SO, back to the subplot. Amelia was only seven when she became immortal, but I was way more interested in her than I was in Clea. Her family history was really interesting, like actually interesting, and I found I just wanted to read about Amelia and leave Clea out of it. So much had happened to Amelia already, I felt like I was finally getting a fully rounded character. She had seen good things and bad things, had in depth experiences, and had watched her family slowly unravel over hundreds of years – she had baggage. Next to this character, Clea felt incredibly naive as a person and underdeveloped as a character – not good when she’s supposed to be the main character.

Of course by the end of the novel everyone comes together for the explosive ending – which did actually catch me by surprise. But I can’t get over the fact that there were so many things I didn’t like about the book. Clea was whiney and selfish, and was entirely obsessed by the love story I don’t believe and the quest I didn’t care about. Meanwhile, Amelia was entirely charming and wonderful. Not only did she have an interesting back story, she also had cool abilities that I wanted to read about – plus her own goals and objectives – she was ultimately the character I was rooting for. I can’t deny that this book has some huge flaws that made me cringe, but I will give this book a higher rating than the first book because of the added characters. I now sincerely hope that Amelia and her family are in the final installment!

Rating: 3 / 5

2 comments on “Devoted – Hilary Duff

  1. I find it so weird when celebrities become authors lol! I’ve only read a couple of celebrity written novels, and haven’t been blown away by any of them yet. The concept of this one intrigues me….but I don’t want to be disappointed yet again.

    • I feel like I’m always intrigued by celebrity work, and then somewhere along the line they drop the ball. Sad to say, while it sounds interesting, I’m sure there are better things in your to-read pile. :)

Leave a Reply

