True – Hilary Duff

TrueFrom Goodreads.com: The epic love story of Clea and Sage comes to its thrilling conclusion in the final book in the Elixir series by multitalented star Hilary Duff. Following the harrowing events of Elixir and Devoted—and the ceremony that almost killed Sage—Clea faces a new reality: With Sage’s soul in Nico’s body, the love of her life looks an awful lot like her best friend’s boyfriend. Can Clea and Sage really be happy under these circumstances?

Clea wants to try to enjoy their new life together, but Sage is acting different—angry—and she struggles to keep her friends from finding out what has happened to him. Something is clearly haunting Sage, and Clea is losing control. Can she trust her friends with the dangerous truth, or will she have to risk losing Sage to madness?

Published: April 2013

Why I Chose It: This is the final book in the Elixer series, and I decided I needed to finish it off and see how it ends.

The other books in the series:

Elixer

Devoted

The Review:

So even though I wasn’t thrilled with the first two books in the series, I have to admit I was totally curious how Duff would wrap up the story. In Elixer I did sort of get attached to Clea, so I certainly wanted to see where the series would leave her (and with whom).

Whatever I was expecting, this wasn’t it. Sage’s soul is thrust into someone else’s body, which apparently everyone is okay with. (There was not nearly enough freaking out in this book for me.) Yet the body’s original soul hasn’t left yet, so while the two souls are busy fighting over one body, everyone troops off into the desert to visit a soul clinic hoping to fix Sage. But when they get there, they send Clea in undercover to check the place out first, rather than sending in the guy who has actual soul issues.

The most annoying part about this book for me is that I was expecting it to wrap up a whole bunch of loose ends left over from the other books, but it didn’t. It doesn’t even touch on them. It felt like the entire book was just blatantly ignoring the other two books and tried to distract us with the Soul Vacation Resort. In Elixer, Clea set out to look for her Dad. Did she forget about him? Did I miss her at some point accept his alleged death? At the end of Devoted, we had two secret societies left devastated after watching the Elixer be destroyed. We also had Amelia’s whole family who had been hoping for the freedom of their immobilized immortal bodies. Apparently, we will never find out what happens to any of them. This REALLY bothers me. Am I just supposed to think they all melted away into meaningless and invisible lives? Amelia was the one character I was genuinely interested in, and she just disappears from the series. Did she die? Did Clea’s Dad die? Did everyone in the secret societies die?? I’m way more interested in finding out what happened to everyone else than I am in Sage.

Speaking of Sage… So I guess the whole focus of this story is the soul-mate love thing going on between Sage and Clea. First of all, while Clea has mild issues with Sage being in a new body, she generally just goes with it. I needed her to freak out, because the whole situation is weird, like really weird, but nope, she’s cool. Second of all, there was this lovely moment, when Sage is having one of his soul-fighting-for-the-body angry moments, and he starts getting extremely violent. Clea is scared for a moment before she reminds herself that Sage is her soul mate and not to be afraid of him.

…Whaaaat?

I’m sorry, if your instincts tell you to be afraid of someone, and you have to tell yourself that he’s okay to be around, don’t you think there’s something wrong here? Clea has a whole inner dialogue with her self after Sage hits her that she’s not in an abusive relationship, and that while abused women may say that exact same thing, her relationship was different because Sage is her soul mate.

What are you even trying to say.

I was not okay with this. I was not okay with this love story or some of the underlying dialogue that went with this love story. I don’t care if Sage is your soul mate, he sucks. And I don’t care if this entire series is supposed to be about the love story because, I’m sorry, it sucks. It was the one aspect of this story that I entirely disliked.

In other news, best friend Rayna is reading Twilight in this book. I’ll let you draw your own conclusions from that.

In summary, this felt like a meaningless installment in the series, and in no way acted as a conclusion for me. Everything I wanted to read about wasn’t there, and everything that was there left me feeling confused and slightly angry. However, if you’d like to read about some interesting theories of what happens when two souls try to inhabit the same body, then there might be something in here for you.

Rating: 1 / 5

2 comments on “True – Hilary Duff

  1. That’s too bad you didn’t like this book :( I read the first two books a few years ago and thought they were alright. Mainly, I think I was more interested in the fact that Hilary Duff had written a book, haha. I also felt that the plot where the girl is always being reincarnated is something used in quite a few YA books.

    • The only reason I read it was because of Hilary Duff! :) It was a tough review for me, because I did like a lot of the main ideas of the series, just not the love story. Unfortunate. That’s interesting that you’ve read a few reincarnation stories, I think this is the first one I’ve read! Definitely intrigued me, I’d like to read more. :)

Leave a Reply

