Cloud Atlas

CloudAtlasFrom imdb.com: An exploration of how the actions of individual lives impact one another in the past, present and future, as one soul is shaped from a killer into a hero, and an act of kindness ripples across centuries to inspire a revolution.

Released: 2012

Why I Chose It: I have been interested in this movie since I first saw preview for it. I was definitely intrigued by the amount of actors coming together for this cast.

The Review:

I haven’t actually read the book by David Mitchell, but now I definitely want to! This movie has intrigued me so much, and I’m actually really looking forward to both reading the novel and re-watching the film.

So the premise of the story is that several people are sort of “reborn” across time, and whatever actions they commit in a previous life may have an effect on their future lives. On top of that, all these people’s lives are continuously intersecting with other reborn souls. It creates a really interesting representation from the actors. They play the same “soul” represented throughout different times, but each time the soul it reborn it has unique qualities, different from its other representations.

I really enjoyed watching the actors represent different forms of their characters. It was really interesting to see how they acted in different time periods and situations for their characters. I personally thought it was so interesting that I would get attached to one form of a character, and not like their past/future selves. I would only like the character in one time period. Alternatively, there were some characters I loved across all time periods.

It was also really neat trying to pick out the actors and see where their character would pop up in the different time periods. Sometimes the character would have a really important central role, and sometimes they would simply be in the background, so that you knew they were there, and had been reborn, but they don’t have any significant part to play this time around.

That being said, it was also incredibly difficult to pick out the actors in different time periods. I was simply trying to recognize the actors each time, but that’s actually way harder than I thought it would be. Not only is each character changing clothes and hair for each time period, sometimes they would be of opposite sex, or even a different race. There were a couple of characters that I actually hadn’t even realized were there until the end credits. I can’t wait to watch the movie again to try and pick out the characters that I missed.

CloudAtlas2

Now, in case if you haven’t noticed, this has been kind of a confusing review. It’s really hard to try and describe the same characters, but different characters, and different time periods where they all interact….yeah, the story is confusing. I was confused. I wasn’t always sure how the characters were interacting with one another within a time period, how they were related or knew each other. Plus because I didn’t always recognize the actor, I wasn’t sure how a previous life was connected to a future one.

But I don’t think that’s really turned me away from the movie. Usually, yes, I hate being confused by movies. But even though I was confused by Cloud Atlas, I found I almost enjoyed it. The movie was like a puzzle, and the whole time I was trying to make all the pieces fit together. I found I was thinking the whole time, but in a way that was really intriguing. I liked that I was thinking throughout the whole thing. So I definitely want to read the book and re-watch the film so that I can understand it better and like it even more.

On top of the intriguing storyline, the movie is beautiful. Each time period has it’s own qualities and they were visually stunning. I loved every set I saw. I also fell in love with the music. It’s really wonderful to listen to, and the themes suit each time period wonderfully. Plus the themes are both heard and recognized by the characters throughout each time period, another interesting element connecting them together. I can’t wait to get the soundtrack, read the book, and re-watch the movie!

Rating: 4 / 5

Leave a Reply

