A Library Wedding!

This past weekend I had the pleasure of attending a wedding that took place in a library! I have to admit, a library isn’t a place that I’d ever considered as a venue for a wedding, but the more I think about it the more I love it!

Now, I should probably clarify that the wedding ceremony took place in a church around the corner – which was also quite lovely – and that the library housed the following dinner and reception.  Also, the reception was not in the actual library *book* area, but rather in a large hall they had on an upper floor. We were at the Toronto Reference Library and the venue was absolutely beautiful!

I love this idea as a book/librarian lover. I mean, I love libraries, why not get married in one? How cool is that?? I also want to share that they had a card catalogue instead of a seating chart, and little library cards for your table number. So adorable!!

IMG_0381Table card

The bride and groom didn’t really exploit this theme anymore than that, which I can understand. If you’re not big into books or libraries, there’s really no need TO exploit the theme.

But I totally would.

Books EVERYWHERE.

And quotations from books, and library cards.

Library plates with food named after food from books. Library themed drinks!!

Pretty much while at this wedding my brain was exploding with all the amazing library/book themed things I could do for a wedding.

Too bad my boyfriend literally does not read books. (He’s a scientist. Anything outside of a science journal doesn’t exist).

What if I married a man with the last name of Books, or Story, had my wedding in a library, and moved to the town of Cardigan? I’d be the happiest person alive. (Minus the tiny library. I might have to find a larger library.)

In summation, I think this is a cool wedding idea, so I think I’ll tuck this one away for future use. ;) I thoroughly enjoyed the wedding, it really was quite lovely. I only wish I had the opportunity to explore the library! It was way larger than I thought it would be – and much larger than the tiny entrance on the sidewalk would suggest. Unfortunately we were only there after hours, so the security was ready to usher us outside at the end of the night. I managed to snag a few pictures along the way!

IMG_0384

IMG_0386

IMG_0387

IMG_0391

 

 

6 comments on “A Library Wedding!

  1. That’s so amazing! I’d never thought of something like that–it’s very creative :D

  2. This is so awesome! I would love to have my reception in a library; pretty much the best idea ever!

  3. A.M.B. says:

    A library would be a lovely (and, depending on the couple, meaningful) venue for a wedding!

Leave a Reply

