Don’t Sweat The Small Stuff

So I haven’t blogged in almost 2 weeks. Oops. But here’s a question: Did you notice?

I have trouble with guilt. And procrastination. Which is actually a really terrible mixture. I procrastinate on everything, from blogging to writing to doing laundry. Some days when I get home from work, I just need me time, and that may mean curling up on the couch instead of being productive.

And that’s okay.

But then comes the guilt. The horrible feeling when I know I could have used that time to do something useful, something meaningful, rather than sitting around all evening. That I’m worthless, because I didn’t use my time to produce something of value. That I’m horribly lazy.

And that’s not okay.

Why do we beat ourselves up for taking some times to ourselves? We all need to get a little “me time” every now and then so we don’t go crazy! And if you genuinely need the rest, sometimes it’s good to just rest, rather than make yourself more tired forcing yourself to do something. Plus if I’m forcing myself into it, I know I never write or blog as well as when I’m actually looking forward to doing it.

Finally, I read this really interesting blog post (I can’t seem to find the link – sorry) that asked a really important question: if someone I’m following doesn’t post a blog, do I notice?

…No.

Do people post in a schedule?

I know some people do participate in events like “Throwback Thursdays” and such, but if they ever missed one of those posts, I wouldn’t notice.

The reality of the blogging world is that a lot of people probably have no idea when I’m supposed to post or if I ever miss a post. (If you do know when the blogs you follow actually post, that’s awesome! I’m just not that observant.) But how can I justify feeling so guilty when people probably don’t even notice when I don’t post?

Since reading this blog, I have felt so much more relaxed. I haven’t been as strict with my posts, so yeah, sometimes they slip. But you know what? That’s okay. I’m doing stuff that I want to do, and I’m happy doing it. So here’s a reminder to take some you time. If you need it, take it. And don’t sweat the small stuff. The only person who will really notice is you, so let yourself off the hook!

Leave a Reply

