Snow White and the Huntsman

SnowFrom imdb.com: In a twist to the fairy tale, the Huntsman ordered to take Snow White into the woods to be killed winds up becoming her protector and mentor in a quest to vanquish the Evil Queen.

Released: 2012

Why I Chose It: I originally watched this movie in theatres and I had the opportunity to watch it a second time.

The Review:

I actually enjoy this version of the movie, because I think there were some very smart decisions made. There are certain aspects that make me really appreciate this version of the story.

The Costumes

I think I loved every single fabric in this film. I’m honestly not sure what it is that I loved so much, but every outfit – whether male or female – I thought not only suited the characters and the setting, but were also really nice to look at. Even when Snow White gets all banged up, her dress is ripped and dirty and terrible and was perfect for the scene. This wasn’t a princess afraid of getting dirty, and that was shown in her clothing. Plus some of the queen’s wardrobe was fantastic. I’m enjoying going through pictures from this movie so much just because I like to look at everything.

EvilQueen3

The Scenery

Beyond the clothing, this is a very pretty – and a very ugly – movie in the appropriate moments. I really love both the scenery and visual effects that appear throughout the movie. There area really dark moments, such as the castle of the evil queen, as well as the forbidden forest. These were really great moments that were all dark and twisty and just really awesome to watch. Similarly there were a couple of absolutely beautiful moments, such as when Snow White meets the White Hart in the forest. I absolutely loved the contrast between the light and dark scenes, and just enjoyed watching the movie for the visual pleasures.

The Casting

I really enjoyed some of the casting for this movie. In particular, I am in love with Charlize Theron as the evil Queen Ravenna. She’s freaking amazing. She’s so good at the subtle movements and facial expressions that you never knew if she was going to smile or break into screams. She has this scary eye look she gets too that is chilling. I absolutely loved her in this evil role and couldn’t get enough of her. When I started watching this the second time I was most excited to see her in this role.

EvilQueen

Chris Hemsworth plays The Huntsman, and I think he was a brilliant choice. He really looks the part, and totally pulls off the rugged, silent and emotionally unavailable man perfectly. He really manages to convey how conflicted he is about Snow White: at first, focused on only hunting her down, then slowly realizing who she is and what she can do. I really appreciated how much depth he was able to convey with fewer lines than everyone else, and how even without a lot of lines he manages to stay central to the story and an important counterpart to Snow White. Hemsworth is a really close second to Charlize Theron.

"The Face"

“The Face”

And of course, I should mention Kristen Stewart. I’m not a fan of hers, nor am I a fan of the Twilight series. But…she did okay. Not great, but okay. Even though she still did the Kristen Stewart “face” throughout the entire movie, Snow White is going through a lot of hard situations, so the face actually works in most scenes. While I really wish she would smile in parts, I appreciated her because she didn’t take away from the movie. No, she didn’t really bring anything to it, but she held her own enough that she wasn’t distracting. A bit of a shame because she is the main character, but for picking Kristen Stewart, the role is actually played okay.

Female Strength

In the movie, the theme of a strong female character is extremely prevalent, and I love it. Obviously The evil queen is extremely strong powerful, and incredibly bad ass, as should be expected. But on top of that, Snow White is sold as a strong female too and I really like this version. Although she’s locked up for most of her childhood, Snow White escapes the queens castle completely on her own. She then convinces the Huntsman, the dwarves, and eventually all of the noblemen to follow her into battle – not because she’s beautiful or promises them gold or love, but because of who she is and her right to the throne. I loved that they believed in her enough to follow her. I also loved the final fight scene between Charlize Theron and Kristen Stewart – the men not showing up until after it’s over. I really appreciated the focus on female strength and independence.

SnowWhite

The Love Story

Well, there isn’t one. Sort of. There’s the suggestion that something could happen between Snow White and her childhood friend, but it doesn’t really go anywhere. And there’s chemistry between Snow White and the Huntsman, obviously, but it’s really downplayed – which I loved. The one aspect that really got me was that no one know Snow White had to be kissed by her true love, so it’s not like their on a mission to find her soul mate. Plus after the kiss, the man doesn’t realize it was because of him, and Snow White certainly doesn’t know what woke her up. I absolutely loved the idea that there was a “true love” in the movie, but it wasn’t focused on, rather was a vehicle to get Snow White to the throne. I loved the subtlety at play in the movie with the love story and I think it really gave the movie strength.

The Music

Finally, as with nearly all movies I love, I really enjoyed the soundtrack. James Newton Howard does a really great job and came up with some really nice themes throughout the movie. I listen to the soundtrack fairly often. Although the fight scenes can be quite loud and harsh in sound, there are some really good themes throughout the movie. I thought it really added to the atmosphere of the movie and just helped push it to the next level.

This is one of my favourite songs, and has the main theme in it. It gets stuck in my head all the time!

So overall, I think there were a lot of strengths in this movie. While I don’t think it was an amazing movie, I couldn’t help but notice all of these aspects that I liked, and really allowed me to appreciate the movie as a whole. In other news, apparently there’s a movie in the works called “The Huntsman” set to release in 2016. I’m not sure what the plot will be or if it will be a prequel or sequel, but I’m definitely interested in seeing what else comes from this particular movie series.

Rating: 4 / 5

 

EvilQueen2

Leave a Reply

