My True Love Gave To Me – Stephanie Perkins (Editor)

TrueLoveFrom Goodreads.com: If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by twelve bestselling young adult writers, edited by international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins.

Published: October 2014

Why I Chose It: When I saw that Rainbow Rowell had contributed to this collection I was super curious!

The Review:

This book started with Rowell’s chapter, and after reading that I felt like I could close the book and be completely satisfied – it was perfect! Then, of course, I was terrified that the rest of the book wouldn’t live up to that first story, but I told myself to keep reading – and I’m glad I did. Charming, Sweet, and a little bit spicy, this was the perfect book to get me into the Christmas spirit.

Even though I knew every story was going to contain a romance, the stories weren’t really predictable, which I loved. It was so sweet watching each of the characters fall for each other. Plus each setting and events were so different that there was a really nice variety to all of the stories, even if they were all romances.

I am also very impressed with the different types of cultures and holiday traditions that were in the book. Not only were there traditional Christmas celebrations in both country and city, the book also had stories on New Years, Hanukkah, Ukrainian Christmas, stories from the North Pole, and a German Krampuslauf. It was nice that the book didn’t just focus on one type of Christmas celebration, but actually had different cultures. While I could have gone for more stories from other cultures, I was still really pleased to see as many as I did.

This was such a nice, fun, and quick read, and it really did boost my Christmas spirit. It reminded me that Christmas should be spent with those you love, and I’m looking forward to seeing my family. If you need a cute romance or love the holidays, this book is sure to make you smile.

Rating: 4 / 5

Quotations:

“Elves. Elves in motion are otherworldly. They are long and lovely and lean; when they dance they are whirling dervishes that sparkle and gleam like sun shining on snow.” p 85 (Polaris is where you’ll find me, Jenny Han)

“Sophie remembered when she first heard carolers, wandering the streets outside her apartment in Brooklyn. They had harmonized so beautifully, Sophie had asked her grandmother if those were angels singing.” p 179 (What the hell have you done, Sophie Roth?, Gayle Forman)

“The room was lit entirely by candles and the white twinkle lights of a half dozen Christmas trees. Mistletoe hung on the end of every one of the old-fashioned pews. It wasn’t like walking into a church. It was like walking back in time.” p 284 (Star of Bethlehem, Ally Carter)

Full Contents:
“Midnights” by Rainbow Rowell
“The lady and the fox” by
Kelly Link
“Angels in the snow” by Matt de la Pena
“Polaris is where you’ll find me” by Jenny Han
It’s a Yuletide miracle, Charlie Brown” by Stephanie Perkins
Your temporary Santa” by David Levithan
Krampuslauf” by Holly Black
“What the hell have you done, Sophie Roth?” by Gayle Forman
Beer buckets and baby Jesus” by Myra McEntire
“Welcome to Christmas, CA” by Kiersten White
“Star of Bethlehem” by Ally Carter
“The girl who woke the dreamer” by Laini Taylor

 

Leave a Reply

