Big Hero 6 (2014)

BaymaxFrom imdb.com: From Walt Disney Animation Studios, the team behind “Frozen” and “Wreck-It Ralph,” comes “Big Hero 6,” an action-packed comedy-adventure about the special bond that develops between Baymax, a plus-sized inflatable robot, and prodigy Hiro Hamada. When a devastating event befalls the city of San Fransokyo and catapults Hiro into the midst of danger, he turns to Baymax and his close friends adrenaline junkie Go Go Tomago, neatnik Wasabi, chemistry whiz Honey Lemon and fanboy Fred. Determined to uncover the mystery, Hiro transforms his friends into a band of high-tech heroes called “Big Hero 6.”  

Why I Chose It: I was very curious about the robots used in this movie – plus the main robot, Baymax, is adorable!!

The Review:

This movie starts off incredibly strong. Hiro is a genius, and involved in (illegal) robot fighting with an awesome robot that he built himself. He then sets his sights on getting into a school with an elite program that will actually challenge him. The one aspect I love about this movie is how Hiro and his friends actually become “superheros.” They don’t get bit by mutant creatures, get infused with an alien being, or fall into super-creation muck. (Yes, this is what I think of when I talk about superheros.) Hiro and his friends have brains. They’re all super smart, and they use science and technology to create “superhero” abilities. I really appreciate how the movie shows them working for and creating these abilities for themselves.

ScienceKids

I liked most of the characters, and there’s a very strong family feeling throughout the movie. Hiro is dealing with the loss of a loved one, and his friends and family are checking in on him, trying to keep him in good spirits. Even Hiro and Baymax’s friendship is really adorable and heart warming. Unfortunately, I’m not sure if I enjoyed the use of other characters in the movie. His friends – who are supposedly equal members of the team Big Hero 6 – really become background supporting characters. It’s one of those movies that I would have been happy with two directions: that the story focuses solely on the relationship between Hiro and Baymax, OR that the story tries to develop all the characters into a strong, cohesive team. Instead the movie takes the middle road, and left me feeling dissatisfied about the use of characters.

When it comes to the final battle between good and evil, the movie again doesn’t quite satisfy. The technology and science are still present in the movie, but I don’t know that it was really utilized in the best way. The fight feels very similar to other superhero movies, and doesn’t really carry any unique “wow” moments. It seemed like the fight was downplayed at certain points, and I wondered if that represented how the movie was marketed towards a younger audience. Still, there were some cool ideas being used, and while not awe-inspiring, the fight was certainly entertaining.

Enemy

While this movie didn’t wow me over the top, there were a lot of features that I really enjoyed. I like most of the characters, even if they weren’t always prominent in the story. Hiro was a great complex main character, and I fell absolutely in love with Baymax – I wish there had been more of him! Finally, I love the use of science and technology in the movie. Big Hero 6 is entertaining and one I would probably enjoy watching again. Definitely check this one out if you like robots or technology-wielding superheros!

Rating: 4 / 5

BaymaxHug

Leave a Reply

