Maleficent (2014)

maleficent_ver8From imdb.com: A vengeful fairy is driven to curse an infant princess, only to discover that the child may be the one person who can restore peace to their troubled land.

Why I Chose It: I always love fairy tale re-tellings, so I was super curious about a story centered on the character of Maleficent.

The Review:

I was immediately drawn in to this movie by the visual landscape, and I really enjoyed how this movie brought Maleficent’s world to life. The faerie world was absolutely beautiful, and I enjoyed spotting the different creatures that were present in the landscape. It truly felt like an “enchanted” land and I could totally believe that Maleficent had grown up here. The creatures also felt like they belonged to this world, and I appreciate how they were involved in protecting the land from humans.

faerie

The character Maleficent was really interesting to watch because visually she was a very stunning character. I really enjoyed the costuming and different special effects that were used when she used magic. I loved how dark this character seemed, and yet she remained beautiful, stunning, and endearing. I particularly enjoyed Angenlina Jolie in this role, as I could completely believe that she was Maleficent throughout the entire movie. She managed to give a lot of emotion in very little facial expressions and it only added to the powerful persona of Maleficent. She was a very cool character, and was pretty much the only person I paid attention to throughout the movie.

Aurora

While I enjoyed the enchanted land that was created and the character portrayal of Maleficent, I think the weakest point of this movie was the storyline. Now, there were good parts to it: the movie does go into Maleficent’s background, showing why she is the way she is and how she goes from a good faerie to something much darker. But aside from establishing that main event, the movie really focuses on someone else: Aurora, and the story of the Sleeping Beauty. While I get that we all know Maleficent from this existing story, I was really eager to see more of Maleficent’s life outside of this particular tale. Instead, the movie tells the same story from Maleficent’s perspective, with a bit of background thrown in. I really think there was a huge opportunity to genuinely explore this character to a deeper level, and that opportunity was ultimately missed.

Overall this was an entertaining movie that was visually stunning. It will probably win over a new generation of fans but unfortunately doesn’t bring anything new to those already familiar with the story. Still, I think this is definitely worth a watch if you enjoy fairy tale re-tellings. :)

Rating: 4 / 5

Maleficent2

Leave a Reply

