Reading Habits Tag!

I was tagged by Margot over at Lectito to share my reading habits. I absolutely love this. I think it’s fascinating that people can have such different reading processes and habits, and I’m always excited to read about other people’s experiences!

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

I’ll read almost anywhere, but the place I read most often is in bed. I love curling up with pillows and blankets and making myself a little nest in which to enjoy a good book!

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

Whichever is closer! While I love bookmarks I dislike having to hunt one down when I need to mark my spot. Lately I’ve been reading with a stack of post-it notes beside me in order to flag good quotations or interesting parts for my reviews, so I’ve definitely been using post-its as bookmarks.

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/a certain amount of pages?

It depends. When I want to stop, I usually check to see how many pages are left until the end of the chapter: if it’s under 3 I’ll keep going, but if it’s more than that I’ll stop where I am.

Do you eat or drink while reading?

I suppose that depends on what time of day it is. If it’s close to a meal I’m not against reading while I eat, but I don’t necessarily make it a habit to eat while reading.

Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

I don’t usually have music or the tv on, but it doesn’t bother me if someone else is watching or listening. For example most nights my family is watching the tv and I’m reading a book. I just block out the sounds and sit in my own little bubble while I’m reading, so thankfully it doesn’t distract me!

One book at a time or several at once?

Either. If I’m reading a really gripping read, I’ll finish it before I pick up another. But if it’s a slower story, I’m not against taking a break and picking something else up instead.

Reading at home or everywhere?

I mostly read at home because I like having large stretches of time to read where I know I won’t be interrupted. But if I’m traveling I definitely read on planes, trains, etc.

Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Definitely in my head. The only time I read out loud is when I’m reading to kids, or when I’m having an in-depth discussion with friends about a book and we need to consider specific quotations.

Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

I never do. While it doesn’t bother me to know plot points or what’s going to happen, I like to read the book from the start and experience the events in the order they were meant. I truly do not understand the habit some readers have of reading the last page first.

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

I try not to damage books when I’m handling them, but if the spine happens to break while I’m reading I don’t get upset. In my opinion, books are meant to be read, so a little wear and tear is normal.

Do you write in your books?

I do not. While I’m not against wear and tear and even the occasional dog-earing of pages, I could not bring myself to actually write in a book. If I need to make notes or highlight a specific part of the book, I will put a post-it note in and write on that instead.

Brand new or old and used?

Both! I love brand new books for their glossy pages, smooth covers, and their new-book smell. But I love old books too. They have so much character and look well-loved, and walking into a used book store is a really great smell too!

 

How about you? Do you have any quirky reading habits you want to share? Comment below! :)

 

Leave a Reply

