Good Morning, Vietnam (1987)

Vietnam PosterFrom imdb.com: A new Disc Jockey is shipped from Crete to Vietnam to bring humor to Armed Forces Radio. He turns the studio on its ear and becomes wildly popular with the troops but runs afoul of the middle management who think he isn’t G.I. enough. While he is off the air, he tries to meet Vietnamese – especially girls – and begins to have brushes with the real war that never appears on the radio.

Why I Chose It: Family members and friends constantly quote this movie to me, so I decided I needed to check it out.

The Review:

I was looking forward to this movie because of Robin Williams. While I’ve been exposed to many of his family movies when I was younger, I haven’t really seen many of his more grown-up movies, so I was definitely curious to see what he would be like in Good Morning, Vietnam. The movie is such an interesting format because much of William’s work is done through monologue. His character, Adrian Cronauer, spends his day at a microphone talking over the radio. Visually, the movie shows scenes from Vietnam, the locals, and the American presence, all while Cronauer is speaking. It was very interesting and I really enjoyed the effect.

Vietnam2

Unfortunately, I didn’t get a lot of the humour. I know I was missing some of the references, and some of the jokes were just not my style, so I definitely felt a distance between me and the movie. But to be honest just watching Robin Williams work was entertaining. Knowing that he ad-libbed many of the scenes made the radio monologues much more fascinating. Plus I felt like I didn’t need to get every joke because the overall feel and flow of the scene conveyed what I needed to know.

The movie does a good job of delving into the characters and really examining them. I like that the main characters were shown as both good and bad, and the complexity of these people was really outlined. Plus, unlike so many American war-time movies, the Americans were not shown as the out-and-out heroes of the movie. They were shown to have flaws, and that gave the movie so much more depth. I like that the movie seems to ask questions and highlight issues, rather than try to smooth them over.

Vietnam1

In summary, this was an entertaining movie to watch. What I like about it is that it has a little bit for everybody. There’s a bit of comedy, drama, and war conflict. There was always enough going on to keep me interested, and the face-paced radio monologues kept me paying attention. This is one to check out if you enjoy movies that touch on war conflict, and definitely if you are a Robin Williams fan.

Rating: 4 / 5

williams4

 

2 comments on “Good Morning, Vietnam (1987)

  1. tsuhelm says:

    A pity you didn’t get all the jokes! An awesome movies… Also worth a mention is the cracking soundtrack which really helps pull you into the timeperiod.

Leave a Reply

