Into The Woods (2014)

Into the woods posterFrom imdb.com: A witch tasks a childless baker and his wife with procuring magical items from classic fairy tales to reverse the curse put on their family tree. With Anna Kendrick, James Corden, Emily Blunt, Chris Pine, Meryl Streep and more.

Why I Chose It: I love fairytale retellings and have always been curious about this musical.

The Review:

From the opening notes I was completely swept away by this movie. I absolutely loved the music, and ever since watching this movie I am constantly humming these tunes. I’m not sure what it was about each song, but somehow I found every one was spot on to what was happening in the movie. They conveyed the right mood for each scene, and it felt like each one actually helped to tell the story and embellish the tale. I genuinely enjoyed all of the music in this movie, and I think they did a really great job at forming the music to the movie format.

Into the Woods Cinderella

A huge part of the music was the actors in the movie. I came into this movie looking forward to Anna Kendrick’s parts, yet was delightfully surprised to love every single person in this film. I did not realize that Emily Blunt and James Corden could sing like that, and their songs are some of my favourite in the movie! Not to mention Chris Pine, who blew me away as Prince Charming. The extra surprise was the voices of Red Riding Hood (Lilla Crawford) and Jack (Daniel Huttlestone) whom I had never heard before and was thoroughly impressed with. I loved the acting and the voices of everyone, and they all fit together incredibly well.

Into the Woods Baker and Red

I was most interested to see how the movie would weave together the stories of so many different characters. I was really impressed by the level of story telling in the film. Each character’s storyline pulled elements from their original tales, and I was really delighted to spot these throughout the movie. I also loved how the different characters were brought together by the overarching story of the Baker and his wife, and really allowed that interwoven feel. The crossovers were really shown through the music, which connected the characters to each other and really brought the separate stories together successfully.  I am in love with this retelling and found it incredibly enjoyable.

Into the Woods Cow as white as milk

Finally, I also loved this movie on a visual level. The overall feel of the woods was my favourite. It was dark and twisty, but parts were really beautiful, with special attention paid to the details such as flowers, moss and lighting. My favourite aspect was that it still had that stage-setting feel to it as the characters ran around, and I could totally picture each scene happening on a stage. I love that the movie doesn’t try to shed its stage origins entirely, but still has some elements that remind you of what it has evolved from. The characters really felt like they belonged in the woods, and I appreciate that their simple costumes didn’t stand out harshly from the setting, allowing the characters to mesh better with their surroundings.

Into the Woods REd

I think it’s an understatement to say that I liked this movie. I loved it. There were so many good elements to it and I can’t wait to enjoy it again. Let me just say, I will jump at the chance to see this musical on stage! Until then I will have the pleasure of watching this movie over and over again.

Rating: 5 / 5

Into the Woods Prince

2 comments on “Into The Woods (2014)

  1. Hannah says:

    I’m glad you liked it too! Except that stupid “into the woods” theme song will now be in your head for MONTHS!

Leave a Reply

