Book Cravings

Do you ever get a craving for a certain type of book, but you don’t know what book to read to fulfill that craving? I have the worst craving right now and I can’t find the right book to read! This weekend I started four different books and didn’t manage to finish the first chapter in any of them – they weren’t what I needed.

Part of my problem is that I’m not exactly sure what I’m craving. It’s not a simple element. I know that I don’t want anything heavy – I’m in the mood for quick reads right now. That points me towards young adult, or a nice light adult book. And I think I’d like a nice romance story, something cute and sweet – which again, is pretty easy to find in young adult books. Finally I wanted something like princesses or nobility, and knights, or rogues on horseback… You know, something vaguely Robin Hood.

Oh yeah, the final constraint? I wanted to find the book on OverDrive. My local library branch was closed this weekend, and let’s face it, it’s fun browsing books from my couch – especially when I can download and read them on the spot.

Cover of SacrificeI started browsing for books on Saturday, but I didn’t really know what I was looking for. To be perfectly honest, my mind kept coming back to Cayla Kluver’s Legacy series. That was the feel of book that I was craving. But I didn’t want to read the series again – I’ve read them and enjoyed them and reviewed the third book. Now I want something new to experience, just with the same feel. Unfortunately none of Kluver’s other books are on OverDrive.

I read SO MANY book descriptions this weekend, and it felt like my reaction to everything was: “Meh. Next.” None of the descriptions I read piqued my interest – it was like nothing was matching my craving, so I couldn’t even take a chance on them. So frustrating! With so many books on my To-Read list, how is it so hard to find a book to read??

Do book cravings ever happen to you? How do you find the book? I’d love any tips! Plus if you have any good books that fit this craving, I’d love the suggestions! :)

6 comments on “Book Cravings

  1. I know what you feel.
    The worse moments are when one of those cravings happen in the middle of my current read, especially the one I want to review. I’m trying to read, concentrate, finish, but my thought keep floating away to the next possible read.
    Maybe one of the books from my to-read-box pile, maybe to one of ebooks or maybe for something I don’t yet have.
    Sometimes I stay put, stop my read for a while and come back to it after a while and it clicks again.
    Sometimes I simply go through my pile and choose the one book that speaks to me at the moment.
    Sometimes I’ll see a review of a book and simply have to read that book.
    It’s a completely random, uncontrollable feeling.

  2. I know exactly what you mean!! Sometimes I end up reading three or four books at a time, because I keep book-hopping to satisfy whatever mood I’m in. I’m so glad this doesn’t just happen to me! :)

  3. YES! This happens to me ALL THE TIME! I’m glad to know I’m not alone! Did you ever end up finding anything to fulfill your craving?

    • You’re definitely not alone! Unfortunately I didn’t find anything to feed the craving. I just went back to a favourite author (Diana Wynne-Jones) and read I book I’ve read before… Wasn’t what I wanted, but at least I was reading!

Leave a Reply

