Book Spine Poetry and Baseball

I finally have to admit it: I have a secret love for book spine poetry. For those aren’t familiar, book spine poetry is when you arrange books in a row to make a poem from the titles. The trick to reading them is to ignore all the extra words like author names, library stickers/labels, etc, and read only the titles.

After you

The Best of Book Spine Poetry | Book Riot

Book spine poetry is so interesting to me. I love the idea that we can take one form of communication and turn it into something completely new and creative. It’s a form of poetry, and it doesn’t have to be a perfect sentence, or even make complete sense. But when I see a poem that is right on the mark I get so excited. It boggles my mind that people manage to find the perfect book titles to convey a thought or feeling – I just love it!

A Snow Story

2013 National Library Week Book Spine Poetry Contest | flickr.com

I would absolutely love to have access to a library full of books that I can ransack to create book spine poetry. I think it would be so much fun to dig through piles of books and see what I can create. Then again, I think piles of books are always fun. :)

Poetry For Young People

2013 National Library Week Book Spine Poetry Contest | flickr.com

 

So where does baseball come in? Well this week the Kansas City Royals were winning the ALCS over the Toronto Blue Jays, and the Kansas City Public Library tweeted this out:

Sorry You Lost

Toronto Public Library was all too ready with their response:

Warning Kansas City

After the Blue Jays won yesterday’s game the two libraries had another round, ending with this awesome shot:

The Comeback
See the original story and more pictures on BarDown.

This is my favourite thing that happened this week. I’ve pretty much spent all week fangirling over everything that I see, and this just tops it off perfectly. Needless to say I couldn’t be happier going into Game 6 tomorrow. Let’s go, let’s go, BLUE JAYS!

 

4 comments on “Book Spine Poetry and Baseball

  1. That’s fantastic – we’ve never thought of book spine poetry! Definitely going to have to try it out… :)

  2. Ayunda says:

    I’ve never heard of book spine poetry but it seems such a unique and fun thing! Some of those are really beautiful to read :)

Leave a Reply

