Killjoys (2015: Season 1)

Killjoys Poster 3From Space.com: Killjoys follows a trio of reclamation agents as they chase deadly warrants throughout the Quad, a distant planetary system on the brink of a bloody, class war.

Leading the Killjoys team is Dutch (Hannah John-Kamen), a gorgeous, former assassin with a complicated past; her loyal partner John (Aaron Ashmore), a witty, technical wizard with a vulnerable heart; and his estranged brother D’avin (Luke Macfarlane), an elite soldier with an expertise in combat tactics. Together, the three Killjoys form a highly accomplished team of bounty hunters, each with distinct and valuable specialties to offer as they navigate the culturally rich, politically complex, and economically polarized worlds of The Quad. Canadian genre icon Amanda Tapping guest stars as a fiercely clever scientist, whose charismatic charm keeps her true intentions concealed from the Killjoys.

Why I Chose It: When I saw this show advertised on the Space website I was attracted by the premise of bounty hunters in space.

The Review:

I actually watched this season at the end of the summer, but it’s been one of those shows that I can’t seem to get out of my mind. I’m very eager for the next season to come out! I grew up with shows like Stargate SG-1 and Star Trek, so I think it was only natural that this show appealed to me.

From the very first episode I swooned over the characters in the show. John and Dutch are best friends, and their characters compliment each other incredibly well. I really enjoy John’s character as the funny tech-smart agent, but I have to admit it was Dutch’s character that made me smile. She’s sassy and clever, and can totally kick everyone’s butt. But she’s also got a huge heart, and you can tell she truly cares about John.  Once D’avin is introduced, the team becomes even stronger and more dynamic, and I absolutely love the trio.

KILLJOYS --

The first of episodes of the season were fanastic. I was impressed with the world building and the quick establishment of the different political, social, and policing systems. The overarching explanation of the reclamation agents – a.k.a. Killjoys – really intrigued me, and I love the badass attitudes the characters have while they establish their roles in this world. I also loved the gorgeous settings and variety of environments that the characters encounter.  The show really hits the ground running and the first few episodes had me totally hooked.

featured-Killjoys1-1200x675

While the start of the season wowed me, the middle of the season definitely slowed down. Unfortunately it was less impressive after such a powerful start, and I was largely concerned that each episode would simply become the Killjoys hunting down a new warrant, and result in repetitive story lines. Thankfully, the season opened back up in episodes 5 and 7, as the characters go through some powerfully emotional events. I am so impressed with how much depth each character is given in such a short amount of time, and how complex their backgrounds become. I am also blown away by the display of acting skills from the three main actors, and cannot wait to see more of them.

Killjoys_104-Davin

In summary, I have totally swooned over this show. I love the setting, the complex political and social systems, and the structure of the reclamation agents’ roles. Add to that the amazing cast and dynamic characters, and I am itching for the start of the next season. Between Killjoys, Black Orphan, Face Off and Dark Matter, I have become a total Space channel junkie, and my favourite Saturdays are spent watching their shows! If you’re into fast-paced science fiction, or stories of agencies that work beyond government control, definitely check this one out!

Rating: 4 / 5

Killjoys_hero_dutch_02

Leave a Reply

