Book Wear! Tattoos

I came across a couple of these on Pinterest and got curious enough to search for more. I was surprised by how many book tattoos are out there – especially book quotations! There are so many! I decided to share some of my favourite ones with you – though I should point out, there are many, many different styles out there, and this is only a very small sample of what I found.

The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe Lamp Post

The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe

I love this tattoo because it’s so recognizable, and brings back so many memories from the book. This one just makes me smile.

50 Incredible Tattoos Inspired by Books | Buzzfeed

 

The Tempest Quotation

The Tempest

While I like a lot of the quotation tattoos that I found, I particularly like this one because of the image. I like the message that it gives, and I think the dandelion was very well done.

50 Incredible Tattoos Inspired by Books | Buzzfeed

 

Shoulder Book

Shoulder Book

I like this one because of the simplicity of the book. But I also like that the pages are blank, like the story is just waiting to be written.

36 Stunning Book Tattoos that are Surprisingly Badass | Buzzfeed

 

Book Kite

Book kite

I absolutely love the sentiment behind this tattoo, and also how the words are incorporated into the kite string. I really enjoy the attention to detail that went into this tattoo.

50 Attractive Literary Tattoos for Book Lovers | Buzzfeed

 

Flying Book Pages

Flying Book Pages

There are many different versions of book pages turning into birds, but I liked this one the best. I think both the idea and image are very pretty.

36 Stunning Book Tattoos that are Surprisingly Badass | Buzzfeed

 

Harry Potter, Hunger Games and Percy Jackson

HP DHunger Games and Jackson

I was surprised that I didn’t find too many mash up tattoos, but I liked this one as soon as I saw it. All three symbols are easily recognizable, and I love the quotation too!

49 Tattoos Inspired by Famous Books | PopSugar

 

Harry Potter Mischief Managed

HP Mischief Managed

There are a LOT of Harry Potter inspired tattoos, and many different versions of the “mischief managed” quotation. I like this one in particular because it is so simple, because of the font used, and also because of the placement on the shoulder.

20 Incredible Tattoos Inspired by Books | Cosmopolitan

 

The Hobbit Smaug

Hobbit

I saw a lot of tattoos inspired by both The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. Many of these were quotations in English or Elvish. I like this one because of the connections to the books, and because it is such a big reminder of the story, yet remains very simple.

The Word Made Flesh | TattooLit

 

Harry Potter Until the Very End

HP Watch

This tattoo was my favourite from the moment I saw it, and it made me smile because of the memories it brings back from the books. I think it’s really pretty, and I love that the Deathly Hallows symbol is so small, yet still very central to the picture.

20 Incredible Tattoos Inspired by Books | Cosmopolitan

 

There were so many other book related tattoos that I found and wanted to include. I am very impressed with readers’ dedication to books and words, and how many beautiful images can be made from the books that we read. Don’t forget to check out TheLibraryLife’s Pinterest Page for more bookish stuff!

 

6 comments on “Book Wear! Tattoos

  1. Hannah says:

    Would you ever get one?

    • I don’t think I would. I have trouble picking a favourite book, never mind trying to pick something book-related to get tattooed permanently! I’m definitely more into book jewelry and accessories.:)

  2. I LOVE book tattoos! I’m always looking at them on Pinterest haha! My manager just got a really awesome one too! If I ever got a tattoo it would be something book related but I haven’t found anything I love yet…and I’m a big baby….

  3. Erin Bentley says:

    The pocket watch that says Until The Very End is my tattoo! Glad you love it :)

Leave a Reply

