1000 Dot-To-Dot Cities – Thomas Pavitte

1000 Dot-to-Dot CitiesOn The Cover: In an age of childhood fun for grown-ups, we proudly present 1000 Dot-To-Dot Cities. Thomas Pavitte has put together a unique collection of dot-to-dot puzzles, all of them consisting of 1000 dots and taking a satisfyingly long time to complete. His unique style, when combined with iconic cityscapes, results in images that are not only fun to do, but cool enough to put on your wall.

Published: 2014

The Review:

This is a bit of a different review, as this is not a book you read so much as a book you draw in. I was shopping for adult colouring books when I happened across this particular book. I knew almost instantly that I wanted to try it out – I loved dot-to-dots as a child! The idea of a challenging dot-to-dot for adults sounded really great.

Doing dot-to-dots is surprisingly relaxing. There are some nights after work when I am so tired I don’t want to do anything, and those are usually the nights I pull this book out. I can connect the dots while watching tv, and it’s nice to be doing something rather than just sitting there. The pictures are not so difficult that I get frustrated, but offer a nice challenge that keeps me entertained. Sometimes I get stuck and have to hunt for the next number, but that’s what makes it fun! And I like that the pictures aren’t done in five minutes – they take a while to do, so it’s very satisfying when I finally finish one. Plus with 1000 dots per picture, I don’t always realize what the picture is until quite near the end, and it’s a nice little mystery that I get to solve.

The book is quite large, and when opened it is very large. It’s almost cumbersome, and I find it’s most comfortable to do when I’m sitting at a table. Of course, I’d rather be on my couch! That’s where there is a really nice perk to this book: the pages are detachable and can be removed easily from the binding. If I get frustrated with the size of the book, I can simply remove the picture I’m working on and take it with me to where ever I want to sit. While I don’t think I’ll hang the pictures on the wall when I’m done, I do like this feature.

Dot-To-Dot

I really only have one complaint about this book: the size of the numbers. I don’t know if they’re size 4 or 5 font, but they are TINY. If I’m really tired I have a hard time finding the next number, and several times I’ve drawn a line to the wrong one! Luckily with these pictures there are so many lines that if I make a mistake, it usually blends right in.

After completing a handful of pictures I can say that I really enjoy this book. It keeps me entertained with challenging pictures and gives me something to do during my down time. The small numbers don’t stop me from coming back to it again and again. I’m looking forward to finding more dot-to-dot books! If you liked dot-to-dots as a child, you should check this out. Maybe you’ll like them as an adult too. :)

Rating: 4 / 5

Leave a Reply

