The Untouchables (1987)

Untouchables PosterFrom imdb.com: During the prohibition wars of the 1920s, Federal agent Elliot Ness assembles a team of mob fighters to bring Chicago crime boss Al Capone to justice using unconventional means. 

Why I Chose It: After hearing my family talk about this movie I wanted to check it out!

The Review:

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started this film, mostly due to the cast. I have not been exposed to a lot of Kevin Costner, and I don’t know Robert De Niro’s earlier work. I’ve never really been a fan of either, so I was concerned that I would be turned off of the film due to the cast alone. I was pleasantly surprised by the opening of this movie. Right away Costner and De Niro fit into their roles so naturally that I didn’t even pause to reconsider the casting. I also enjoyed seeing Charles Martin Smith in another role outside of American Graffiti, but I was most intrigued by Andy Garcia. I really only know him from the Ocean’s 13 films, so he was a bit of an unexpected surprise. I definitely enjoyed him in the film, and he had a key role in one of my favourite movie moments.

George Stone

I appreciated that this movie was not just action. While there was a lot of good action and some genuinely exciting scenes, there was also focus on building and telling a good story. While the action may have caught my attention, the storytelling intrigued me. I wanted to know what happened with the IRS and case they were building against Capone, and I loved that the action happened in and around that story line. I was very happy to see the different layers of storytelling present in the movie.

Eliot Ness

Overall, the feel and pace of the movie was exactly what I wanted, and I actually kind of loved the feel of an 80’s movie set in the 1920s. I did find that minor parts of this movie were a bit cheesy – perhaps not a big surprise for an 80’s mob movie. But though I may have rolled my eyes a couple of times, that didn’t stop me from getting caught up in the action and highly enjoying the last few scenes. If you like old gangster movies or old style action then check this one out – you just might like it!

Rating: 4 / 5

The Untouchables Team

Leave a Reply

