Year In Review: 2015

2015 Totals

I feel like this is one of those years where I’m simultaneously going: Yeah! I read 40 books! and: What? Only 40 books?! This year I felt like I was busy all the time, so I have to be pretty happy that I managed to read the books that I did. Plus reading almost 11,000 pages sounds pretty darn impressive. ;)

2015 books

Out of the books that I read, I only rated 5 books as a 5/5 (two of which are children’s picture books!) These results don’t shock me. I felt that this year wasn’t a great year for books and I didn’t fall head over heels for any of them. While I liked many (20 books rated 4/5) none of the books left me outright fangirling. Still, I found some great new authors and a few series that I’m looking forward to continuing.

The Most Memorable of 2015

Fairy Tale Re-Telling:
Entwined by Heather Dixon

EntwinedI had not planned on picking up this book but I am so glad that I did. This book reinforced my love for fairy tale re-tellings. It had all the elements: princesses; enchanted forests; evil kings; magic castles; and even dashing romances. Dixon’s writing was absolutely beautiful and I loved every bit of description in this book. Although this book would not win over every reader, I was charmed from the beginning.

 

Canadian History:
Tides of Honour by Genevieve Graham

TidesThere is a lot of history in this book, as it touches the war on the ground in France, the war support in London, England, as well as the major event of the Halifax explosion. By following two specific character’s experiences, I felt exposed to a small but very clear window of the war experience. This novel is beautifully written, and I was moved by the respect that Graham uses when dealing with difficult and serious topics.

 

Interesting Characters:
A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan

HistoryofDragonsThis novel is most memorable for the narrating voice, which is very distinct and strong in character. She knows she has accomplished much more than any scholar of her time, and she does not hide this achievement. This is a character that I was able to trust entirely as an authority figure. In addition, the status of the characters as scholars allowed for a different form of interaction and created a high level of intellectual debate which I greatly enjoyed. Most notably, Marie Brennan is the author from whom I am most looking forward to reading other work.

 

Writing:
For the Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund

For the Darkness Shows the StarsI only just finished reading this novel, and I enjoyed it immensely due to the writing. The story is first and foremost a romance, but Peterfreund presents a novel with many other elements at play. She carefully executes the storytelling to move forward the plot and creates a complex world with many subplots, yet does not subtract from the romance focus of the story. This is one of my favourite writing pieces I have read this year because she was able to create so many layers within the story, and yet carefully guided the focus of the story exactly where it should be.

 

I’m really looking forward to the upcoming year, discovering all new authors and falling in love with new books. I hope everyone has a very Happy New Year!

I like to party

Image source: Goodreads Facebook
Leave a Reply

