The Year Ahead: 2016

I’m really looking forward to the upcoming year and all of the exciting things I have planned! This is the first year I’ve made resolutions for the blog, and I wanted to share them with you!

Facebook
thelibrarylife FacebookI have finally set up a Facebook page for thelibrarylife to make it easier for people to follow, and to share other book goodies. :) You can find it here: www.facebook.com/thelibrarylife/

 

Reading Challenge2Read more books!
I’m always pushing myself to read more, and the past two years I’ve somehow peaked at 40 books. I’m challenging myself to read 50 books in 2016.

 

Tackle my to-read shelf. Again.
To-ReadAt one point this past year it was actually going down, but somehow the number of books to read crept up to 418! I’m going to do my best to knock these off the shelf!

 

Read more Classics.
Classics 2015Last year I read only 4 classics, and I know I can read more than that. It’s my goal this year to work older material into my book rotation.

 

A Very Potter Year Ahead
Illustrated HPHands down, this is the one I am most excited about. Somehow, unbelievably, I have not read the Harry Potter books in 8 years. 8 YEARS! (I did my waiting! Eight years of it!) This also means that I have never read the books as an adult. I have decided without a doubt that I am re-reading all of the books this year. I will also be watching all of the movies again, as I think I’ve only seen the last movie once, and I find that a little shocking. This is very quickly becoming a Potter-filled year, as for Christmas I received a HP daily calendar for my desk, two HP mugs, and the new Illustrated Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. I am SO EXCITED.

In relation to my Very Potter Year, I’ve decided to make a little project around the re-reading of the books. I will be live reading the books as I go, and create posts partially to reminisce, and partially to chronicle my thoughts and reactions to the books as an adult. As I do not want to flood this blog with the live reading posts, I have created a new page on Tumblr for this project: thelibrary-life.tumblr.com/

 

It’s going to be a very busy year for me, both online and off, and I am very excited about everything to come. I hope everyone has a very happy 2016. :)

3 comments on “The Year Ahead: 2016

  1. Great goals! :) Bleh. I should read more classics but I have no motivation to! Maybe I’ll try some “modern” classics instead! And yay for Facebook pages! :)

  2. […] the beginning of this year I decided I was going to re-read all of the Harry Potter books. I haven’t read them in […]

Leave a Reply

