Sad News Today

This year I’m immersing myself in the world of Harry Potter by rereading the books and re-watching the movies. It’s been delightful to go back to the wizarding world and visit some very memorable characters.  So it seemed almost a dream this morning when I heard the news of Alan Rickman’s death.

Snape

I mostly know Rickman from the Harry Potter series. I absolutely love Rickman’s portrayal of Snape. Every little detail was perfect, from the voice to the icy stares to the way he walked. It was because of the movies that I delighted in Snape’s character as a villain and learned to love him as a victim. And I feel that every bit of me falling in love with this character was because of Rickman.

Snape Potions Class

To be honest, I kept hoping this was another hoax. I expected to have many more movies to enjoy Rickman’s performances, to grow old and watch movies and get to whisper “There’s Snape!” Yet nothing made this news more real than reading all of the lovely heart-filled messages Rickman’s Harry Potter cast members had to say about his passing.

Evanna

All I can say is that I am glad I will be taking this year to reread Snape’s story, and it will be bittersweet when I watch the movies again.

“A film, a piece of theater, a piece of music, or a book can make a difference. It can change the world.” — Alan Rickman

 

Wands

 

Leave a Reply

