My Favourite Love Story

Happy Valentines Day! This past week I’ve been thinking a lot about the books I’ve read, the characters I’ve adored and the love stories I’ve enjoyed.

It seems that almost every young adult novel has to have a love story. It’s part of the magic formula that makes a best-selling book. Love stories seem to be largely routine at this point – though I’m thankful we seem to be moving past the dreaded love triangle. When I encounter a YA novel without a love story I’m always a little surprised. So I got to some serious thinking this past week: are there any love stories that truly swept me away?

HawksongWhile there are many characters I adore, there is only one story that I absolutely love: Hawksong by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes. I have read this book many times, and I always go back to it for the love story. The main reason I enjoy this book so much is because I love the two main characters. Danica is a beautiful character who leads a very reserved life and remains guarded with her emotions. Her kingdom is built on respect, order and regime. Zane, on the other hand, is a very sensual character who enjoys the pleasures of life. His kingdom is built on intimacy and close interaction with his people.

But the one thing they have in common is the love for their people and the desire to protect their kingdoms from a terrible war. I love that they are both so passionate about their responsibilities to their people, and that they come together as allies to create peace. The feelings that grow between them come from exploring each other’s worlds and learning about each other as the people they are instead of the titles they wear. I love this story because their feelings are so organic and natural, and that they learn to care for one another before they learn to love.

This is my favourite love story that I’ve read so far – but I’m always ready to read more! What’s your favourite fictional couple or love story that you’ve read?

I hope everyone has a very lovely Valentines day! heart outline

Leave a Reply

