Audiobook Indecision

I’ve been pretty busy the past couple of weeks, which consequently means I haven’t been able to read very much. I always have this push and pull in me: I want to read, but I either don’t have the time or I’m so exhausted that I can’t keep my attention on the page in front of me. As such, I am once again leaning towards audiobooks as a way to still read, but also be able to multitask and do the other things I need to do.

As I’ve been exploring audio titles the past few days, I have realized that I am terrible at choosing audiobooks – which is perhaps why I always wander away from the medium in the first place. Printed books are so easy: I’m interested in a title, I check it out. Done. Yet audiobooks always take me so much longer to choose even one title.

A large part of my hesitation is that there are certain books that I want to read in printed form. These are typically books that I’ve been looking forward to for a while (such as Divergent by Veronica Roth) and I don’t want to ruin the story for myself by listening to the audiobook. I’m not trying to say that the audiobook is inferior, because I don’t believe it is, but I know that when I listen to an audiobook I’m usually multitasking, so my full attention is not on the story. The books I’m looking forward to the most I want to read in printed form so that I can give the story 100% of my attention.

I’m also constantly drawn to books that I’ve already read. For example, Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events continues to appear on my library profile’s suggested audiobooks. I have already read the entire series, yet part of me is so incredibly curious what the book is like as an audiobook. But I don’t want to spend all my time listening to books that I’ve already read, I want to experience new books too. I have a giant to-read list full of books that I will never get through if I’m constantly spending time on books I’ve read before.

And so there I am, lying on my couch late at night (and probably far too tired for the task) scrolling endlessly through my library’s pages looking for audiobooks to listen to that will hold my attention yet still allow me to multitask with other projects. And I laugh at myself because I know it’s silly. Finally, yesterday I did manage to check out a few audiobooks. I decided to go with books I had already read – my curiosity got the best of me and I’m excited to try out a familiar book in a new medium. After all, I would put in the time to see these books adapted as a movie, so why not try as an audiobook as well? Here’s to audiobooks, multi-tasking, and experiencing old things in new ways. :)

2 comments on “Audiobook Indecision

  1. I totally get what you mean! There are several books I’ve wanted to read as a physical book, so I’ve skipped them in audio. I tend to get books that I’m only half curious about on audiobook….like the Cinder series. I read the first two books physically, and wanted to know what happens next but I didn’t love them enough to feel motivated to read them myself. I actually ended up really loving Cress as an audiobook, and now I’m onto Winter! The same thing went with the Martian and The Storyteller….didn’t really feel motivated to read them and ended up loving both of the audiobooks!

    I also tend to look at the Audie awards for good audiobook recommendations! I’ve yet to be disappointed by an audiobook I’ve listened to from that list!

    • That’s so interesting! I wonder if you would have enjoyed the books as much if you had read them instead of listening to them? And thanks for the Audie awards tip – I’ll have to keep that in mind the next time I’m looking for one! :)

Leave a Reply

