Live Reading: First Thoughts

At the beginning of this year I decided I was going to re-read all of the Harry Potter books. I haven’t read them in several years and I want to revisit all of the characters and settings and re-immerse myself in a world that used to be my second home. I have made this into a Live Reading project, where I post my reactions to the books as I’m reading (which you can find here: thelibrary-life.tumblr.com).

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this project. While I’ve read other Live Read blogs (and loved them) I’ve never done one myself, and I actually found the whole project a little daunting. At first I wasn’t sure what to post on Tumblr – just because I find a passage in the book fascinating doesn’t mean that others will. But I reminded myself that this was supposed to be a project for me: I wanted to re experience the story and explore the books in a new way, and I chose to do that through a Live Read. So I settled down with The Philosopher’s Stone and my laptop and started reading!

HarryPotterIllustrated

I actually love doing the Live Read posts. After the initial awkwardness they became much easier to do, and (almost) any thought that pops into my head I muse about on my Tumblr page. I’m able to slow down and ponder the story in a way I never have before. This is actually my favourite part about the Live Read posts: they force me to pause in my reading and consequently slow down the entire reading process. I have read these books many, many times, and every time I flew through them, practically speed-reading my way through the pages. Yet by forcing myself to slow down, I feel like I’m actually getting a much stronger grasp on the story than I ever had before. I’m taking a much closer look at interactions between characters, dialogue and character reactions. I love digging in to the book like this, and I feel that I’m able to think critically about the story. Live Reading gives me a different type of reading experience; one that builds upon all previous experience and gives greater depth to the story.

Unfortunately I haven’t had much time to invest into this project, and consequently have only made it to Chapter Six of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – but I’ve had a lot of fun with the chapters I’ve read so far! Despite being so slow-moving, I’m still loving this project and am very excited to continue the journey. :)

2 comments on “Live Reading: First Thoughts

  1. Sounds like fun ;) I remember when Sabina did a Live Reading of 50 Shades of Grey lol! Ahhhh good times!

Leave a Reply

