The Queen – Kiera Cass

PrintOn the Cover: Before America Singer’s story began, another girl came to the palace to compete for the hand of a different prince….

Don’t miss this digital original novella set in the captivating world of Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series. This prequel story takes place before the events of The Selection and is told from the point of view of Prince Maxon’s mother, Amberly. Discover a whole new Selection with this inside look at how Maxon’s parents met—and how an ordinary girl named Amberly became a beloved queen.

Published: 2014

Why I Chose It: I’ve had my eye on Kiera Cass ever since reading The Selection series, and I finally decided to check out one of her novellas.

Other Books in this Series:

The Selection
Th
e Elite
The One
The Heir

The Review:

This novella takes place before The Selection and offers a window into the previous selection ceremony. While this story seemed to be an in-depth look into the future Queen, Amberly, I have to admit I am not impressed with her character.  While I was told in The Selection that everyone adored her, I certainly never felt that I was witness to that adoration. I always felt that she was a bit of a wallflower. This novella seemed to only stress that feeling to me – at one point she is practically forgotten by all the other Selected women. Not to mention that she is extremely overshadowed by Prince Clarkson.

I will admit, I was fascinated by Clarkson in this story. I love to hate him in the Selection series, so I really had to try to reconcile myself to meeting his younger self and to picture him as a young attractive bachelor. Yet the glimpses we get of who he will become and what made him that way are incredibly interesting and at times downright chilling. Clarkson, for me, was the real highlight of this story, and I definitely enjoyed being able to build on his character from the Selection series.

This novella has a very narrow focus. It does not help with any world building or exposition of the plot or setting of the stage for the Selection series. It exists for one purpose: to develop the characters of Queen Amberly and King Clarkson. I do think this is an interesting look into the King and Queen, and it does fill in a couple of holes with their characters in the actual series. I think this story will really only appeal to true Selection fans who are looking to further their interaction with Kiera Cass’ world, and gain a deeper understanding of some of the characters we meet there.

Rating: 4 / 5

The Queen French Cover

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

