Corsets & Clockwork – Trisha Telep (Editor)

corsets-clockworkOn The Cover: Dark, urban fantasies come to life in the newest collection of Steampunk stories, Corsets & Clockwork. Young heroes and heroines battle evils with the help of supernatural or super-technological powers, each individual story perfectly balancing historical and fantastical elements. Throw in epic romances that transcend time, and this trendy, engrossing anthology is sure to become another hit for the fast-growing Steampunk genre!

Published: 2011

Why I Chose It: This collection grabbed my attention when I was searching for works by Maria V. Snyder. When I saw the description and list of authors I knew I had to give it a try!

 


 

The Review:

It is very rare in an anthology to like all of the stories it contains, and yet, somehow it has happened. Yes, there are stories in this collection that are very different from what I usually read, some that puzzled me and some that left me thinking, but all of them fascinated me. This collection could have easily been twice as long and I would have happily read it all. This is an extremely strong collection for anyone who likes fantasy or steampunk stories with a romantic element. It has a really great variety of writing and I can’t wait to check out more works by all of the authors.

Overall Rating: 5 / 5

 

My Favourites:

The Clockwork Corset – Adrienne Kress

I loved this story because it was both a solid romance and a solid steampunk. While this story started slow, it continued to get better and better until the ending, which had me totally head over heels. The ending was beautiful – both for the clockwork corset and the romance story. Kress’ story ended up being really sweet and definitely made me smile long after I was finished reading.

 

Tick, Tick, Boom – Kiersten White

This story could have easily been a full novel. I still kind of want this one to be a novel so that I can read it. I fell in love with Catherine within the first page, and her adventure had me tearing through the remainder of the story. I loved that Catherine built devices using pocket watches, and her involvement with the political world was fascinating. White does an amazing job of leaving you wanting more, and oh, do I want more.

 

King of the Greenlight City – Tessa Gratton

When I put down this book, this is the story I kept thinking about. I loved this story. In such a small writing space, Gratton creates an amazing world that has an incredible amount of detail. Not only was I totally swept away by the space in which the characters existed, the characters themselves were totally endearing. This was such a unique and powerful story, and the ending absolutely shocked me, and I simply cannot stop thinking about it. This was easily my favourite short story in the collection.

 


 

Quotations:

“That was the fascinating thing about iron. It could be crafted to look as delicate as a willow branch but still have all the strength of an oak. In this instance, the platform’s supports had been wrought to appear as twisting vines. The natural and the man-made creating a new kind of beauty.” (The Clockwork Corset, Adrienne Kress)

“From the window of the library in the Promethean Tower, Alys could see the crown of the Seventh. A giant model of the solar system turned there with an audible tick-tick-tick. The planets were gilded and silver-cast, glowing in the sunset all the colors of blood. A scattering of glass stars hung from the clockwork and caught the light too, dazzling her eyes. Each was the size of her skull, but from this distance seemed little more than pinpricks against the sky.” (King of the Greenlight City, Tessa Gratton)

 

The Collection:

Rude Mechanicals – Lesley Livingston
The Cannibal Fiend of Rotherhithe – Frewin Jones
Wild Magic – Ann Aguirre
Deadwood – Michael Scott
Code of Blood – Dru Pagliassotti
The Clockwork Corset – Adrienne Kress
The Airship Gemini – Jaclyn Dolamore
Under Amber Skies – Maria V. Snyder
King of the Greenlight City – Tessa Gratton
The Emperor’s Man – Tiffany Trent
Chickie Hill’s Badass Ride – Dia Reeves
The Vast Machinery of Dreams – Caitlin Kittredge
Tick, Tick, Boom – Kiersten White

One comment on “Corsets & Clockwork – Trisha Telep (Editor)

  1. […] Out Corsets & Clockwork (Contributor) Brave New […]

Leave a Reply

