My Bookish Wedding!

I’ve been super busy the past couple of months and for a very good reason: I got married! Planning a wedding is not easy, and one thing I struggled with was how many bookish details to include. If it was just me planning, this wedding would have been bookish from top to bottom! But my husband and I wanted the wedding to represent both of us, and he doesn’t read. (How do I survive? Easy. I make more and more outrageous book references until he squints at me and asks “Is that from Harry Potter?”) So, what bookish details to include?

We eventually chose to write our own ceremony script together. In it we included two book quotations that I selected and a couple math and science puns that he added. It ended up being a nice blend of his humour and my bookish love, and I think it showed how our relationship works.

In addition to the ceremony, I found this really beautiful paper at Michaels. I fell in love with it as soon as I saw it. I loved how subtle it was but that it still showed some book love. This ended up being used for our place cards.

Writing Paper

I hadn’t planned anything else for the wedding, but my amazing sister showed up with two awesome gifts as decorations in our reception hall. The first was a monogram created on a page from an atlas, with hearts depicting where my husband and I met, got engaged, and where we were married. I love how personal it feels!

b-frame.jpg

My sister also made this incredible heart for us – out of book pages! While I normally wouldn’t agree to using a book to make a decoration, I melted when I saw this. It meant so much to me and I think it’s beautiful!

book-heart.jpg

Book Heart Close.jpg

I absolutely loved these touches to our decor. These details meant a lot to me and they were that perfect little bookish touch that I wanted on my wedding day.

12 comments on “My Bookish Wedding!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Beautiful wedding

  2. Congrats!!! That heart is so beautiful! She did a fantastic job 🙂

  3. Birdie says:

    Really beautiful! I love the idea of a bookish themed wedding. Lovely!

  4. calgarymoose says:

    I was so touched to see what your sister made for you. They are both so thoughtful and full of love.

  5. All those little touches sound so special.

  6. Marie says:

    Congratulations!! :) That heart made out of book pages is AMAZING, I love it :)

Leave a Reply

