How to Be a Bawse: A Guide to Conquering Life – Lilly Singh

Bawse

On the Cover: From actress, comedian, and YouTube sensation Lilly Singh (aka ||Superwoman||) comes the definitive guide to being a bawse—a person who exudes confidence, reaches goals, gets hurt efficiently, and smiles genuinely because they’ve fought through it all and made it out the other side.

Told in her hilarious, bold voice that’s inspired over nine million fans, and using stories from her own life to illustrate her message, Lilly proves that there are no shortcuts to success.

WARNING: This book does not include hopeful thoughts, lucky charms, and cute quotes. That’s because success, happiness, and everything else you want in life needs to be fought for—not wished for. In Lilly’s world, there are no escalators, only stairs. Get ready to climb.

Published: March 2017

 


 

The Review:

I did not actually know who Lilly Singh was before picking up this book. I am not really into Youtube besides watching A Very Potter Musical for the tenth time. But the book caught my eye because it’s written by a Canadian Youtuber and I thought, how cool it that? I chose not to explore Singh’s Youtube channel before reading this book or writing a review, because I wanted to hear Singh’s written voice before I heard her real one.

Perhaps not surprisingly, Singh has a big personality, and her personality shines through every page. Her writing is funny and sarcastic and constantly made me smile. While it is entertaining, this book is not a home-run for me. At times, Singh’s tone borders on lecturing and becomes off-putting. She proclaims loudly and repeatedly that any moment not producing is a moment wasted. It all felt so exhausting to me. Not everyone can produce content or schedule work at every waking moment.

 

Singh2

 

Certainly, this book has some great advice, and if you are looking to upgrade your productivity and master the skills of leading, there are some amazing pointers throughout the book. Singh connects smart how-tos to relatable and humorous life lessons, and this book will shine to those with similar personalities. Unfortunately, I did at times struggle with the content. No chapter is linked to the next, and at 50 chapters there is just SO MUCH in this book that I think it’s easy to get overwhelmed. Yet Singh herself advises you to re-read this book, write in the margins, rip out the pages and post them to your wall so you can follow them every day – and I think there’s gold in that advice.

This book is fun, complete with hilarious come-backs, witty references, and bold colours on every page. Singh’s pictures made me smile, as did her writing, and I enjoyed the experience of reading her book. While I’m not sure that I am meant to be a Bawse, it was a fun read and is sure to be a hit with Lilly’s fans new and old.

Rating: 4 / 5

 

Singh

 

Quotations:

“Videogames are a great analogy for life. You go through levels, get thrown off by obstacles, and face several enemies.” p 26

“Sometimes I’m midway through my day and I discover I have a stain on my shirt. And by ‘sometimes’ I mean daily, because I’m an animal. So what do I do? I cover it with a jacket or decorative pin. Problem solved. […] When I spill my drink on the carpet and the stain won’t go away, I buy a new plant and conveniently place it on top. It works out great until I spill my drink four more times and my living room looks like something out of Jumanji.” p 46

“Don’t just try to pass your classes; try to ace them. Don’t just aim to pay your bills; save enough to travel. I don’t want you to write a script just to see a movie get made; I want you to win an Oscar. That’s the different between settling like a survivor and conquering like a Bawse.” p 59

 

Lilly Singh pictures from: 
www.lillysinghbook.com
http://www.ctvnews.ca/entertainment/lilly-singh-to-publish-debut-book-how-to-be-a-bawse-in-spring-1.3001043
Leave a Reply

